digital audio from cable box

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by scott_seth, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. scott_seth

    scott_seth Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    My cable box has a digital audio out as well as a standard left/right rca jack audio out. Right now I have the right/left hooked up to the AV receiver.

    Does anyone think hooking up the digital audio out is worth it ?. Does the quality coming form a cable company warrant it ?. Also, what type of cable do I need ?. I have some unused video cable with RCA plugs, will they be ok or is there a cable specific for digital audio.

    As always, appreciate the advice.

    Thanks,
    SLS
     
  2. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Time Warner Cable's 3250HD box and yes, it's worth it for the music channels as well as the 5.1 broadcasts. Digital audio cable should be 75 ohms, your video cables should work just fine.
     
  3. Mark Rich

    Mark Rich Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I'd agree the digital out is the way to go. I'm sure sure the DAC's within your AVR are superior to whats inside the cable box.
    A good quality (well shielded) 75ohm rca cable (video) will work fine for this appication.
     
  4. JayDaniel

    JayDaniel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    The digital connection is worth it IF your cable co. sends 5.1 broadcasts and/or other digital channels. And just so you don't go thru the same headache I did, note that you usually have to keep the RCA composite connections hooked up as well as the digital. If not on my Scientific Atlanta box, you'd get no sound at all.

    Try it and see if you like it. You are only going to be out a few bucks for the cable.
     
  5. RobertCharlotte

    RobertCharlotte Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have TimeWarner also, and I had to hook up both sets of outputs on mine because by and large only the digital cable-tier channels have digital audio feeds. However, on many of the movie channels I do get 5.1 audio (Showtime seems especially good at providing this).
     
  6. scott_seth

    scott_seth Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have to keep the composite connection as well..hmmm...

    That may explain why when I briefly tested the digital audio, disconnecting the other cables, I didn't get any sound at all. But I was not on a digital channel...I have Cablevision service by the way.

    If you have them both hooked up then how can you be sure you are listening to a feed from the digital output and not just the composite feed ? Would you switch to a digital music channel and disconnect the composite to see if it works ?
     
  7. Mark:F

    Mark:F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have both digital and optical audio outputs on the HDTV box and my receiver can take either one. Which is better? Thanks.
     
  8. Jason_A

    Jason_A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mark

    Both are pretty good. Sometimes though the Optical cables may have jitter problems. Other than that I'd say pretty equal.

    Jason
     
  9. JayDaniel

    JayDaniel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0


    Scott - on most AV receivers you must choose the input source - analog, digital, or digital auto-detect. Set it on auto detect and it will automatically select the digital signal when available. Also, on my receiver a small red light comes on when a digital signal is received.
     

Share This Page