Did the cable company lie???

Discussion in 'Displays' started by RyanJE, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. RyanJE

    RyanJE Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    They told me i need an HD cable box in order to view hd on a TV with a BUILT-IN HD tuner.

    That doesnt make any sense to me, is that true??
     
  2. BrianTwig

    BrianTwig Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe it is true. The HD Tuner, if memory serves me right, will pick up over the air HD broadcasts.

    I could be very wrong though and wouldn't be surprised if I am.
     
  3. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Digital Cable usually requires a QAM tuner, and is often encrypted. Some TVs will, with the aid of a CableCard, decrypt the signal.
    Over The Air HDTV uses a 8VSB tuner (often just called ATSC). Many HDTVs only have 8VSB tuners, and cannot receive digital cable without a cable box.
     
  4. nolesrule

    nolesrule Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Real Name:
    Joe Kauffman
    If you want to use any PPV or VOD services (even the free VOD), you would need the box anyway.
     
  5. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    A lot of cable companies broadcast local HD channels in un-encrypted QAM. ESPN HD, etc will probably be encrypted and require a cablecard or HD cable box.

    Newer TV's are required to have an ATSC (OTA digital tuner) but not a QAM tuner, so whether or not you can get HD without a cable box depends on the make/model of TV that you have.

    -Robert
     
  6. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hee, hee. A buddy of mine in a town near me bought an HD Panasonic plasma. He was happy to see that he could do this with his plasma and cable. For a while. Then the cable company got smart and somehow turned off "free" HD. So now he has to rent a box.
     
  7. RyanJE

    RyanJE Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually the model im looking at is a panasonic TH-42px600u. So you guys are saying i do need an HD cable box. What is the BUILT-IN tuner for then.

    And, if i get a crappy box will it degrade the signal rather than if i went straight to the tv??
     
  8. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    The tuner is so cheapskates like me can just use an antenna and receive crystal clear pictures without resorting to cable.
     
  9. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it depends on your cable company cable lineup in your city.

    In Mountain View CA, I have Comcast and subscribe to "Limited Basic Cable" which they just used COAX splitter, the other end = Cable Internet.

    So, after I received my Toshiba 56HM195 1080p HDTV w/ATSC/QAM Tuners, I just scanned my channels and found the following HD channels:

    1) KNTV CH 2-1
    2) NBC CH 116-1
    3) CBS CH 5-1
    4) ABC CH 7-1
    5) HDNet KRON CH 112-2
    6) PBS HD CH 9-1

    ... so I'm happy [​IMG] since the only shows I usally watch is on Channel 5 HD (NCIS, CIS, The Unit & Numb3rs). I'm also covered for HiDef Football in my SF Bay Area if I'm home to watch in w/CBS, NBC and KNTV-HDs.

    Try scanning first and see what HD channels you get.

    Phil
     
  10. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldn't for the HD/SD digital channels. Analog channels, TV might be better, you can always split a line straight to the set to check. Analog channels will be worse through the DVR models since they have to be encoded.
     
  11. videobruce

    videobruce Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually, the internal is better than an external tuner. One less box sucking up eneregy cluttering up the area. That also depends on which input it is hooked to.

    Bottom line; why pay the CC more each month just for the ability to pay them more each montyh with PPV, VOD etc. (stuff you can see eventually anyway).
     

Share This Page