Denon AVR1804

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Shawn N, Jul 3, 2004.

1. Shawn N

Shawn N Agent

Just seen this reciever (Denon AVR1804) on sale at GoodGuys for $249. I always read about people looking for good quality recievers for lower prices. I'm no expert but think this is a good reciever at that price. Anybody agree, or disagree?

2. Drew_W

Drew_W Screenwriter

Refurbs are $287 at ecost, so I guess that's a good price. I don't know how much lower than $249 you can expect to see it, especially if there's a 1604 and 1404 below this model.

I warn you though that it has no preouts so upgrading by adding amps later is an impossibility. I'm surprised Denon hasn't included that in this model, since it is 3 models up from the bottom.

If it suits your needs, current and future, it's probably a good buy. Enjoy!

3. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer

That's a superb price for a very good entry-level AVR. I have the previous year's 1803 operating my bedroom system, and it's a terrific-performing little unit. Since an upgrade path for that system is irrelavant, its lack of pre-outs is a moot point. Also, the 1804 has been well-reviewed in the A/V press. Its build quality is typical Denon, which is to say among the best for a mass-produced AVR.

4. Shawn N

Shawn N Agent

Just to update. I went to GG today and they only had the display left. So they sold it to me for $209. Hopefully it works out for me. At that price I can't go wrong.

Shawn

5. steve nn

steve nn Cinematographer

WOW! That is a very good price. There goes my one year trade-in value option[​IMG]...... I hope you enjoy your new receiver as much as we have enjoyed our 1804.

6. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer