cutting sonotube caps

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Eric Schriver, Jul 29, 2004.

  1. Eric Schriver

    Eric Schriver Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    I've been lurking on this forum for some time now, but I've reached somewhat of a problem. I've purchased my MDF, drivers, and sonotube, but for the life of me I can't cut my end caps. I attempted using a Craftsman router with a Bosch bit. The problem is I got about 1/4 of the way around my 20" diameter cap and the bit was dull and would no longer cut. I know the answer is probably simple, but I must be missing it and only have a limited time to complete this before going back to college. How did you guys cut your caps? Thanks.
     
  2. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oldham Viper 1/4", solid carbide, spiral cut, up-twist bits.

    $17 or so at evil orange
     
  3. Kyle Richardson

    Kyle Richardson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, make sure you are using carbide and take it slow; you should probably do about 2-3 passes in order to cut through the 3/4" MDF. If you try to cut all at once it puts too much stress on the bit and router causing premature failure.
     
  4. Allen Ross

    Allen Ross Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    i prefer Whiteside bits, haven't had a problem with the 5 or so that i own.
     
  5. Frank Carter

    Frank Carter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a Whiteside sprial upcut bit I got from www.woodcraft.com. Also make sure to obey Kyle's suggestion of taking a few for going through the MDF, I usually take 3 passes.
     
  6. RodN

    RodN Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cut around using a jigsaw first, leaving about 5mm (1/4") for the router to take off. Makes things MUCH easier for the router.
     
  7. Ronnie Ferrell

    Ronnie Ferrell Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm happy with Whiteside as well. There are a lot of good router bits out there but Whiteside has given me the best bang for my buck. They are not the cheapest but are usually the cheapest of the high quality bits. Woodcraft has them but they charge too much for them. I get them from www.routerbits.com.

    If you do go with whiteside, the spiral bit you need to order is: RU2100. At routerbits.com it is $14.60. Woodcrafts part number is: 03K33 for the same bit, and they want $21.99 for it.

    Another good one is CMT. I like CMT better than Whiteside but they are usually out of my price range on most of their bits. The CMT 1/4" spiral bit is not that bad of price. The CMT bit you would need is model: 191.008.11 and you can get it from sommerfeld tools: http://www.sommerfeldtools.com/products.asp?id=78 for $16.90


    Ronnie
     
  8. Eric Schriver

    Eric Schriver Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright I think I got this down. I have a bandsaw at my disposal that I'll use for the outside cut... Thanks all for the help... If anyone else has anymore pointers keep them coming.
     
  9. Jeremy Stockwell

    Jeremy Stockwell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eric,

    Getting the bulk of the MDF cut away using a jigsaw (like RodN said) is an excellent suggestion. I didn't have a router, so I made just about all of my cuts using a jigsaw and then finished off the endcaps/plugs with a RotoZip spiral saw. Worked fine for me.

    JKS
     
  10. TimForman

    TimForman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to use router bits with a 1/2" shaft. Much less vibration. The skinny shafts don't hold up nearly as well.
     
  11. Eric Schriver

    Eric Schriver Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would use a 1/2" shaft if I could but the collet on my router is only a 1/4". One bit if properly used should get the job done though, correct?
     
  12. Jon Torres

    Jon Torres Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Oldham Viper bits at Home Depot have a lifetime warranty, so if it dulls on you, return it for a new one.
     
  13. TimForman

    TimForman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made several speakers before my 1/4" shaft bit broke. Like others have said, take your time.
     
  14. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a single Oldham bit to built 4 tube subs. That included cutting 1.5" thick bottom plates, in addition to the endcaps
     

Share This Page