What's new

Custom Paradigm 2200 (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Jason Higgins
I have a second generation Paradigm PW-2200 subwoofer from a buddy of mine. The amplifiers power supply seems to have gone completely dead. This generation of subwoofer is 400w RMS continuous.

I do not want to replace the amp with the same piece of crap for the money I have to give Paradigm. I'm looking to completely seal off the existing amp area and install an amp that will sit seperately from the subwoofer box.

I'm looking at the Dayton amplifiers. I'm debating between the 1000w and 500w models. The 1000 seems like it might explode my sub to pieces. However, the subwoofer is an 8 ohm speaker, which brings its power down to a little under 500w RMS and also makes life easier on the amp.

I'm also curious how Paradigm comes up with their power ratings on such a small looking amplifier that really weighs nothing with an 8 ohm speaker? I can't imagine it could dish out 400 rms. But I'm also no expert on this Class D stuff. I can see the subwoofer taking it, it's a pretty beefy monster with a good heavy stack of magnets, and it looks like it was made to really dissipate heat.

I know a lot of people like the behringer amps, but I'm really not interested in a piece of pro audio equipment that isn't quite made for home theater playing.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
I would actually buy any one of the Behringer. Forget another "plate amp".

Send RobertJ a PM to see what he thinks about a "specific one"(unless he sees this and responds).

But yeah, sealing that off and outboarding the amp is a perfect idea.

Edit:
And yeah I know you have a predisposition against the Behringer. But the feddback destroyer...once you have it, you won't go back to not having it.

Real Name
Jason Higgins