What's new

Curious about this whole Universal "Fake Fan/Message Board" controversy? (1 Viewer)

Scott Weinberg

Senior HTF Member
You may have seen some news about this new mini-scandal via RottenTomatoes.com:
Various movie studios (mostly Universal, it seems) have had employees visit popular movie sites and pose as 'fans' offering enthusiastic comments. This practice has LONG been a thorn in the side of www.HollywoodBitchslap.com, where I am a senior editor. Two or three times a month, these comments pop up from someone calling themselves "Film Freak" or "CineFan" and the IP adresses always lead back to a particular movie studio.
The IMDb ran a news piece today in which HBS' Head Honcho (my buddy Oz) was quoted extensively, and I was thrilled to see that this despicable practice was finally being brought to light. ( Link Removed )
The full skinny is available through these two articles:
http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/hbs.cgi?feature=598
http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/hbs.cgi?feature=608
I'm currently working on a much larger article on this devious practice, so I'd love to know if anyone else has dealt with (or seen) these types of false advertising littered about the Internet.
If it's wrong to fabricate an entirely non-existent movie critic...
If it's wrong to have studio employees pose as exiting moviegoers for the sake of a TV promo...
Then I certainly think it's wrong to pretend to be a fan and praise a movie - when the author of said post is actually a paid employee of the film's production company.
I'm not trying to be controversial or vindictive, but this is an issue that I think is important.
Thoughts, feedback, reactions, etc., are all extremely welcome.

Jordan_E

Senior HTF Member