Corrupt Data.....On my PS3?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Richard_T, Oct 1, 2009.

Tags:
  1. Richard_T

    Richard_T Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had this problem with my PS3 now for a while and I've finally got around to trying to find out why this is happening. I use my PS3 to view pictures that are on the HD of my PC. My problem is that though I can see them on my PC just fine, I get a "Corrupt Data" notice on my PS3. These pictures have not been changed or altered in any way.

    Not all the pictures get this notice. Most (say 80%) work just fine. What may also happen is that I can see the thumbnail picture but when I click on it, the picture never comes up and I get the "Corrupt Data" notice.

    Has anyone else experienced this? Can someone please let me know what the problem is? My PS3 is a first generation 20 GB model that works perfectly well. I am looking upgrading the HD when I get the chance.

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,510
    Likes Received:
    82
    What format are the pictures in? This could be the issue.
     
  3. Richard_T

    Richard_T Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are just regular jpeg files. Like I said, this doesn't affect all the pictures. Just some of them for some reason.
     
  4. Keith_R

    Keith_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Real Name:
    Kyle
    I get this with music files (mp3's) on my 60gb ps3 launch machine as well, the files play fine on my pc and through a CD-R but will not always work on the ps3. This only occurs on 20% of the files.

    I don't have a solution.
     
  5. Richard_T

    Richard_T Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm. It seems from the low number of replies that this problem does not affect all PS3 owners...

    I wonder if this a "Launch Machine" problem that the first generation systems had that may have been fixed for later versions. Perhaps an e-mail to Sony may help?

    And Keith, I get this problem with some of my mp3s as well.
     
  6. Russell G

    Russell G Fake Shemp
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    11,098
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    Deadmonton
    Real Name:
    Russell
    I've had it the odd time with the odd video file using the media server software thing. I find that when I refresh the server, the PS3 recognizes them again. My guess is the PS3 looks at the drive, "remembers" the files and if anything changes like the file name or whatever, it goes wacky. Just a guess though, and I've never loaded media onto the PS3 itself.
     
  7. efauser

    efauser Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the PS3 last week and easily set it up. I spent a few days getting my music files cleaned up and was ready to go today. I had played a few songs tweaking tversity and all was good. Tonight I tried to stream music and about 1 minute into a song it would move to the next song telling me the file was corrupt. I just linstalled Windows 7 yesterday and am wondering if there's an issue with it or is this something else that's easily fixed.
     

Share This Page