What's new

Consequences of crappy receiver? (1 Viewer)

TK1451

Auditioning
Real Name
Tyler King
So here's the deal. I'm a college student, which means my budget is quite limited. I was looking to "beef up" my sound system by switching out two of my small bookshelf speakers with more formidable replacements (it's a 5.1 surround system). I found a good deal on eBay but it says I should have a receiver between 4 and 8 ohms. My cheap-ass receiver says 3 ohms on it. What would the consequences be of using a receiver that's not quite good enough to support the speakers? If it's just a loss of sound quality I can live with that until I can afford a better receiver. If there's a possibility of damaging the speakers then I'll have to wait until summer when I can make some more money.

Thanks everyone.

ps-
htf_images_smilies_banana.gif

itschuck2c

Auditioning
Real Name
Chuck
Don't buy anything..save your cash till you can afford a real receiver. You would be amazed at what your speakers may sound like with a decent receiver.

Brett DiMichele

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brett
Probably one of the Ebay deals where they claim it's 1500 watts (PMPO), something like that?

TK1451

Auditioning
Real Name
Tyler King
it's a Samsung HT-Z310. Manual lists:
F(x2)/R(x2)/C output: 166W (3ohms)
Subwoofer output: 170W (3ohms)
Frequency range: 20Hz-20KHz
S/N Ration: 70dB
Channel spearation: 60dB
Input sensitivity: (AUX)400mV

My entire current system was a package deal at Best Buy. It has served its purpose well, providing decent sound within my dorm room for watching movies and such, but when I'm home over the summer and have to fill a house with music at parties, I want a system that can really kick.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Sorry for the delay. Had trouble logging on to the HTF site.