connection between my lcd and home theater

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Yogesh12, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. Yogesh12

    Yogesh12 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    i have sony 46hx85 lcd tv and dav-dz290k... both have hdmi. previously i was using another sony tv of 40 inches.. i connected audio (red and white) from my home theater system to tv and configured as audio out in my tv and was able to use it.. but in my new tv i am not having that option... i have set top box and it also has hdmi support.. i want my sound to come in home theater system when it is on and in tv when it is off. how to configure it?
     
  2. Jason Charlton

    Jason Charlton Ambassador

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,503
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Real Name:
    Jason Charlton
    If your set top box has stereo audio output (red/white RCA) then simply connect the audio output from the set top box directly to the red/white inputs on the Sony home theater system.

    If your set top box does NOT have analog red/white outputs, then you may need to get an adapter to convert from whichever digital output it has - coaxial or optical/toslink - to analog stereo, then connect that into the Sony home theater system.

    That Sony home theater system will not support any more than one external device, and that one input is limited to analog stereo. If you want to hear digital surround sound for any source other than DVD, you will need to consider getting a different home theater system.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Here is a link to that "adapter"
    .
    http://www.amazon.com/AGPtek-Digital-Optical-Converter-Adapter/dp/B005DIRI6I/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1355434109&sr=1-3&keywords=digital+analog
     
  4. Yogesh12

    Yogesh12 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have ps3 also. so it will be tedious to connect each and everytime. my previous setup was, two hdmi to tv (ps3 and set top box) and white + red cable from tv to home theater system. ad i configured in of white + red of tv to out. but in this tv i cant configure in to out. thats major problem :( any hlp?
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Yeah, we both just told you,
    Buy the toslink/analog adapter.
    I assume the TV has a digital audio output. I can't find any English websites for that TV(which is odd). So, does it have a digital output?
     
  6. Yogesh12

    Yogesh12 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes now i am in search of that converter.. yes my tv has that... u can search for bravia 46hx850... my tv has digital output.. can u tell me how to identify hdmi 1.4 cable?
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    There is no such thing as HDMI 1.4 cable.
    You have standard speed.
    You have High Speed.
    You have High Speed w/ Ethernet.
    If you have 3D/ARC, you technically need High Speed. But, if you are dealing with a 6 foot or shorter HDMI run...just buy one.
     

Share This Page