Connecting computer to Onkyo TX-SR605 and Question re HDMI splitters

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by lptudor, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. lptudor

    lptudor Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm purchasing a new home theater system that includes the Onkyo TX-SR605 as the AVR. Since I'll be running new cables and electric, I figure this would be a good time to pull wires from my computer. The computer I have now is several years old (so doesn't have anything cool like HDMI output) and will eventually be replaced. My question is what should I pull to connect the computer to the AVR (both for the time being and to future proof with a new computer). My primary objectives will be to run Netflix downloaded movies to the TV (or similar concept) and to play music stored on my computer through the speakers and zones hooked into the AVR.

    My second question relates to HDMI splitters. I need to connect two TVs to the AVR noted above--both of them are 720p (one plasma and one LCD). However, the AVR only has one HDMI output. I've read about people having bad results with using HDMI splitters. Can anyone give me any insight into whether it works well or whether it's necessary to get one with an amplifier. Any insight/personal experiences?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. lptudor

    lptudor Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the issue of HDMI splitters, can someone tell me whether running my DVR (Vip622) through the AVR (Onkyo TX-SR605) will have an impact on my ability to take advantage of the DVR's dual tuners and ability to watch recorded programming? After making the post above, it dawned on me that if I split the HDMI signal, that could cause me to only get the same video/audio transmitted to both TVs -- thereby eliminating the ability to watch separate programming on two separate TVS.

    Can anyone tell me if my concerns are valid and what sort of work around I could implement in order to get 1) all the benefits of a dual tuner DVR; and 2) the highest quality signal to each TV (which are both 720p)?

    By the way, I'll be controlling these components with a Logitech Harmony 890.

    Thanks

    TV 1: Panasonic TH-50PX77U (50" 720p plasma)
    -TV 2: Toshiba Regza 26HL67 (26" 720p LCD)
    -AVR: Onkyo TX-SR605 (HDMI switching and video conversion)
    -Speakers: Aperion (422 [left, right and rear surrounds]; 422-C
    ; S-8 sub
    -DVR: Dish Network HD DVR ViP622 [although I could stick with Comcast and get their DVR]
    -DVD: Toshiba HD-A2)
    -Remote: Logitech Harmony 890​
     
  3. JJMJ71

    JJMJ71 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I understand, If you split the signal both TVs will still get the same signal. The receiver has a zone 2 line output for sound, but not for video. So the Onkyo receiver will not help you in this regards either. On the back of the Dual tuner DVR should be two outputs for each channel. You would have to run seperate audio cables to the receiver for the two zones and seperate video cables to each of the TVs.

    I am not an expert in this area so I hope someone will chime in here and correct me if I am wrong, but that is my understanding of how your system could work.

    Cheers,
    JJ
     
  4. lptudor

    lptudor Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Given the fact that the D* DVR sends two feeds-- one signal in HD via HDMI and one to the second TV in SD -- and in light of way you say above, I wonder if this would work? Run the HD feed from the D* DVR to the AV receiver and then split the HDMI output from the AV receiver (with the full 720p HD signal) to go to both televisions. This would mean that both TVs would be subject to the same video/audio feed if they were both on at the same time. However, I wonder if I could then use the SD signal and patch it straight from the DVR into the TV.

    Or perhaps there's a much better solution out there?
     
  5. JJMJ71

    JJMJ71 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything you said sounds viable. That would probably be the best that you could do without having two HDMI outs on the DVR.
     
  6. lptudor

    lptudor Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page