Compontent Cables Question

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by BrandonB, Oct 13, 2003.

  1. BrandonB

    BrandonB Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently finished my basement and ran all my wires in the walls. My compotent cables were approximately two feet sort. Instead of buying $25 component cables for those last two feet, I just used RCA cables. I was told that it wouldn't make a difference. Does anyone know if this is true?

    Secondly, I had to use RCA jacks at the wall because I could not find properly color coded ones for component cabless. I wrote down somewhere which cable was which, but have now lost the key. I have 4 RCA outputs behind my TV, three are component and one is a vid-RCA. I have no idea which is which. I have been trial and error sampling but cannot find the right combination. Does someone know an easier way to figure this out besides busting a hole in my newly finished basement?

    Thanks all!
     
  2. JohnGib

    JohnGib Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    An ohm meter is probably your best bet...you can short out one end by clipping something metal between the pin and the sheilding (after disconnecting all of them) and just measure the resistance between the pin and shielding at the other end. The one with 0 (or close) resistance will tell you which is which. Repeat for the others.

    Hope that helps.

    JG
     
  3. GrahamT

    GrahamT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is a good tip john. To answer your first question Brandon, there is nothing wrong with using RCA cables instead of component. They are identical in composition. I would suggest that you label them with coloured tape or something so you dont get confused again.
     
  4. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just be sure they are video cables, or clearly 75-ohm cables. REgulare audio cables may not be 75 ohm (they don't need to be). While i'd guess most are 75 ohm anyway (they can just produce the same stuff in bulk), any 75 cable should suffice.
     
  5. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,183
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. BrandonB

    BrandonB Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help guys, I'll have to see if I can get my hands on an ohm meter (that is really a good idea!). Can you be a little more descriptive in your instructions? I am not inclined to this stuff. What do you mean by shorting one out. If I disconnect the cables from the DVD player, do I then connect two of those ends together (with say a paperclip?). Then test all the outputs. The one with the "0" signal will be the one that is unclipped?

    Bob, I did all the work myself. When I was referring to three component cables and one vid-RCA, I meant that I have an RCA ran for the video off my old VCR, and a separate three for the component cables for my DVD player.

    I didn't have to run any coax. I have satellite so I used the S-video output. That's what I've been resorting to for my DVD video in the meanwhile.

    Again, thanks for the help all!!
     
  7. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,183
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. ChrisTheg

    ChrisTheg Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a much easier way of checking what goes to what, without having to buy a ohm meter. All you have to do is plug a source, like a dvd player in one end of the wire, and a monitor on the other. First hook it up directly to the tv to make sure your on the right input. Oh and about the wire being the same. Not all wire is the same. Most are alike but depending on the composition of the wire like if its silver, copper, or an alloy will effect your picture quality.
     
  9. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,183
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. BrandonB

    BrandonB Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same thought as Chris on the way home last night. I plugged the monitor plug into a VCR and tried all four outputs until I found the one that worked. I knew the other three were the component cables, but still had to figure out which was which. Used a few of my brain cells I have left and figured there were only 6 possible combinations it could be. And lucky me, the second try worked!! Now everything is working great!

    Now I have to find another reason to get a tester. I can't pass on getting a new tool!!
     

Share This Page