Comcast HD Cable Stinks!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Kage, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. Kage

    Kage Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today, I got Comcast HD Cable installed and it has about 5 channels. The problems I noticed on my tv with Comcast HD Cable are: 1) 4 black bars surroungs the image on 3 channels. 2) Audio dropouts 3) A mosaic type garbage appearing every 20 minutes on the HD channels 4) On HBOHD the picture quality is a little worse than my Denon DVD-1600. 4) ShowTime HD does not look like HDTV quality

    I am going to call Comcast tomorrow and cancel my HD service and go back to digital cable.
     
  2. Dave Scarpa

    Dave Scarpa Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 1999
    Messages:
    5,350
    Likes Received:
    46
    Real Name:
    David Scarpa
    I have HD Comcast on 2 set and it looks fine i see nothing you report what type of TV are you using.
     
  3. Diallo B

    Diallo B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    1
    What Dave said.
     
  4. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use Comcast standard cable. About 3-4 weeks ago NBC started having some weird crackily audio problem that annoys the HELL out of me. First tech said I have very good ears and he wouldn't have noticed it if I didn't point it out. Second tech said he couldn't hear it at all (wasn't there when he visited).

    Neither were able to help me, I guess I'll try my luck with DirecTV. Goodbye to $39.99 cable internet a month. [​IMG]
     
  5. Tim K

    Tim K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. Kage

    Kage Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. Thomas H G

    Thomas H G Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet DFW finally has HD! I told those b&*ta#ds to call me when they finally get HD. [​IMG]
     
  9. Tim K

    Tim K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,694
    Likes Received:
    763
    Location:
    Michigan
     
  11. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's too bad you've had some problems. I've had Comcast HD ever since it became available in Albuquerque and I have been very pleased with it.

    It is my understanding that they offer whatever HD locals are available in the area. Do you find that to be the case in your city--that is, that ABC and CBS are not broadcasting digitally? If not, maybe they couldn't come to an agreement with the local affiliates, which would be unfortunate.

    1)I don't know which box you use, but check and see if there are different viewing options for digital but non HD broadcasts as Tim suggested. Of course, HD material will be letterboxed on your 4 x 3 TV.

    2 & 3)They should be related(IOW, there will probably be audio dropouts when the picture pixelizes). Check your splitters and your RF coax cable. I had the exact same problem and even had them swap out a box, but the problem persisted until I replaced the cable(which they made)from the wall to the HD box(the connector wasn't crimped properly). If the problem persists, have them swap out boxes. Also related, I was having a problem with Monday Night Football dropping out a few times. It turned out to be ABC's problem, not Comcasts.

    4)I'm suprised about HBO & Showtime. I have HBO and most movies are outstanding. Quality varies with older movies, but since film has more resolution than HD, the ones that are converted should still look better than DVD. That has been my experience, at least.

    You should check to see if they offer INHD 1 & 2. Comcast owns them or partially owns them, so I'd think they'd be available in every area. They are great channels that offer a variety of programming from movies, sports, nature shows, concerts, etc... I watched Nightbreed last night(cheesy horror flick, I know, but I love it [​IMG]) and they've offered Full Metal Jacket and Year of the Dragon. They also have a show dedicated to upcoming movies called In Theaters. The trailer for Return of the King was amazing in HD.

    I hope you can get your problems resolved, so you might try some of things we have suggested because some channels in HD are better than just having digital cable, IMO.

    Good Luck,

    DJ
     
  12. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did get to watch some Denver area Comcast HD over this past weekend. His just rocked, was hard to come home and watch my ancient big screen. Ahhhh, the cure has been ordered for myself. Maybe you or maybe with the help of a knowledgable friend can sort of figure it out on your own, before you throw in the towel on it. It seems chronic even here in the Denver area, that the old timer NTSC cable guys, just really have no clue at all where HDTV is concerned, well actually they did not really even have a clue about "regular cable" but there were not near so many criticalities with it.

    After all, I would assume you bought an HDTV to actually view HDTV on it at some point, that point may as well be now, I'd try to figure it out.

    Ask around, maybe somebody else close to you has it too and see what problems / solutions they may have come up with.

    The guy at the house I went over to, had to dink with his TV with various sources for best view. He said it took him a ton of experiementing before he became really happy, and said he would bet most people never get full effect from their Comcast HD, unless they have enough in depth knowledge about all the features on their TV (and sometimes the actual cable box), and are willing to try everything to get to the best for each individual source. So maybe HDTV requires more work than many are willing to put into it.
     
  13. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Kage,

    Is your Sony a 4:3 or 16:9 TV? If it is a 4:3, that would explain why you have bars on all sides of some pictures. Native 4:3 programming is often displayed with black bars on the side when broadcast in HD. This coupled with the bars on the top and bottom of your 4:3 TV will give you bars all around. Watch some native 16:9 programming (INHD or PBS-HD are always 16:9 and HD) to see if the side bars go away.

    Audio dropouts and pixelization are almost always bandwidth problems. Have them check your connections from the pole to the TV to see if you need better splitters/connectors. If this is not it, maybe they are pushing too much content for the bandwidth to handle. Some cable systems need a big upgrade before handling HD content.
     
  14. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very true Jeff, they came and ran RG62 in our neighborhood before they even started to offer any of these digital services.
     
  15. Oscar Saenz

    Oscar Saenz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 1999
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kage, I also had Comcast install the HD box at my house and was feeling the same way you were until I saw The Tonight Show in HD. I have now seen more episodes of Jay Leno in the last week than I have in the last 5 years.

    HBOHD does come across at about the same video quality as a DVD but, it's better than the 4:3 alternative.
     
  16. Tim K

    Tim K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are experiencing black bars on the top, bottom, left and right...you may need to go into the cable box menu and select 4:3 as your TV type. I think it defaults to letterbox or 16:9 TV.
     
  17. Jose T

    Jose T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had Comcast HDTV for last month and no problems with reception in Philly area. Keep my finger crossed.
     

Share This Page