Car just hit 105,000 miles. What are the top five maintenance activities should do?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Drew Bethel, Jan 13, 2004.

1. Drew Bethel

Drew Bethel Screenwriter

I have a '97 Pontiac Sunfire GT - stick shift (5 speed). Had the dex-cool flushed out of the radiator 18 months ago and have just been been doing regular oil changes and tire rotations only.

I'm looking for the top five things I must consider doing in the next few months to keep my baby purring like a kitten. I'm thinking about changing the spark plugs and spark plug wires...gas filter...but hey, I'm no mechanic.

2. Johnny Mo

Johnny Mo Agent

Timing belt/chain
    Main Seal/Rear Seal
    Clutch, pilot bearing
    Fuel Filter(s)
    Check Suspension components

3. Andrej Dolenc

Andrej Dolenc Stunt Coordinator

If you've never changed your trasmission fluid, that would be high up on the list as well.

4. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

Get your ball joints checked for play.

5. Bill Williams

Bill Williams Screenwriter

Also, be sure to check the alternator on your car. My last car, a '95 Buick Century, went for six years until it died out due to a failing alternator, and when I traded it in, it was up to over 130,000 miles. Make sure that the alternator is working, or you'll wind up shelling out major bucks to have it fixed.

The brakes and shock absorbers are also good to keep checked properly in order to keep your car running smoothly. And also make sure to have the tires on your car rotated regularly.

These are additional things that will help your car last longer.

6. Chuck C

Chuck C Cinematographer

another addition: clean your throttle body. Over time, it gets gunked up with carbon and restricts airflow which slows down performance. Chances are that the fuel injectors are located in the throttle body....those should be cleaned too.

7. Garrett Lundy

Garrett Lundy Producer

May be time to check the valves.