What's new

Canon EOS Xti and what lenses? (1 Viewer)

Eric Samonte

Screenwriter
I'm leaning towards a Canon EOS XTi as I've had good experience with Canons and like their menus and software. I'm torn between lenses however. I'm no professional but have an eye for the unusual. I'll be using it for day to day photos, occasional scholl plays, landscapes, potraits etc. Basically, a little bit of everything. So, the 18-55mm might prove useful enuff but I may be looking for more zoom during events. I've been checking the Tamron 18-250mm. The budget would be breached I know....

Any thoughts?

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Generally, the 10x or greater zoom lenses are not very good in image quality, they tend to be slow in focusing, and their maximum and variable apertures can be frustrating. Their only advantage is the convenience of their focal range.

What is your budget for lenses? Personally, I think you'd be better off with a two-lens solution. The Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 gets great reviews, and is about $450. This would give you a large aperture lens for lower light shooting.

For a telephoto, the Canon 70-200mm f/4 L and Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS are both around $500, and are excellent "bang for the buck" lenses. The former has professional build quality, faster focusing, but less range and no image stabilization. The latter has image quality close to the "L" lens, an extra 100mm of reach, but does not focus as fast, and has consumer-grade build quality. You may be able to find a good deal on a used 70-200 f/4 L, since a lot of people are upgrading to the new version with image stabilization ($1,000). Check out the buy/sell forum on www.fredmiranda.com .