What's new

Building a PVR Home Entertainment Center (1 Viewer)

SmallTownUSA

Auditioning
Real Name
Harold Blair
Hi All; While I am not a novice with computers, I AM a novice with video. I would like to cancel my DirecTV HD-DVR service and build me a PVR system which would allow me to download HDTV (or SDTV) content over the net and play it on my HDTV. I would also like to play HD (Blue Ray) content as well as sometimes project pictures from my computer. What do I need to start this process. My home computer equipment consists of a relatively high end workstation, an IBM T60 laptop, ethernet throughout the house as will as wireless router system. I have two HDTVs in the house in different room. The house is also wired with Coax. Is there anyway I can use my workstation as a central system to download the TV content (say from Netflix) and play it on either/both of the HDTVs? We never watch "live" TV or the local stations. We always watch pre-recorded HDTV or SDTV obtained from DirecTV. Hence the desire to get rid of DirecTV. Any info here would be greatly appreciated. I am also more than willing to read a lot to educate myself. thanks, Harold

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
Harold:

What do you have loaded on your workstation as far as an OS? If you don't have it already I would load Windows Vista Home Premium or higher onto the work station. Then I would put a Media Center extender at each one of your HDTVs. That way you download content to the workstation and then stream that video to either HDTVs. As far as watching Blu-ray your best bet would be to put a player at each TV as streaming HiDef content over wireless can be really hit and miss.

SmallTownUSA

Auditioning
Real Name
Harold Blair
Parker: thanks for the reply. I am running XP Pro. I will look into the specs, etc for a Media Center Extender on each. Any suggestions on the type of media extender?

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
Harold: