Bridging head unit amp?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones / Entertainment' started by Joseph_W, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. Joseph_W

    Joseph_W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm replacing my head unit in my car because the current one is broken. I only have two speakers but all the head units are 4 channels (20W X 4). I have looked into specs and owners manuals with no luck. Does anyone know of a HU brand that allows amp bridging (ie 40W X 2).
    Thanks,
    Joe
     
  2. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,922
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unless stated in your manual DON'T try it.

    Brent
     
  3. Joseph_W

    Joseph_W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Brent,

    I agree 100%! I was just wondering if anyone had a HU they knew was bridgable since I am in the market for a new unit.

    Joe
     
  4. Anthony_C

    Anthony_C Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never seen a HU with bridging capabilities. If you are wanting more power, you would be better off getting an external amp. An external amp is going to give you a lot better sound and clarity.
     
  5. Joseph_W

    Joseph_W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Anthony,
    I have come to that conclusion, too. I read on a post, probably on a car forum, that someone bridged their amp and I assumed they meant the amp in the HU. I can' find the post but I bet they were talking about a separate amp as you suggested. I'll see how satisfied I am with just the HU.
    Thanks again!

    Joe
     
  6. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,922
    Likes Received:
    1
    YEP, I had(still have somewhere) an old Sony XR7180 cassette stereo that was something like 4 by 8 or 2 by 15.

    Just had to flipa switch!

    Brent
     
  7. Mark gas

    Mark gas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    pioneer had some hu's you could bridge but I would just get a small amp.
     
  8. Denton

    Denton Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Denton
    One possibility you might want to consider: biamping. I have some MB Quart coax's that have a biamp setting on their crossovers. Use one pair of channels on the tweets and one set on the midbasses. (Some current head units have RCA sub-outs that could be used for a sub and amp while using your head unit power on your main speakers.)
     

Share This Page