Bose Lifestyle 30

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Sheri, May 22, 2003.

  1. Sheri

    Sheri Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Bose Lifestyle 30 and many components which are now more complicated because I keep adding gadgets! I need wiring help!! I'm not a Home Theater expert...but I can follow directions!

    I'd like to know the BEST way to connect all my components, of course!
    Keep in mind that I am a beginner and need very simple directions!

    First of all, I have these components:

    Bose Lifestyle 30 with the following inputs:
    Aux/Vid 1/Vid 2/Tape. and one Tape out line as well.

    - Digital cable box with an S Video jack, maybe 2. I'm not using the S video cable now...just the coax
    - TIVO - has S Video
    - VCR
    - DVD -has S Video
    - Nintendo 64
    - Radio Shack Splitter
    - Panasonic TV with AV jacks and one S video connection and with PIP feature...which I've never gotten to work!
    - Universal SONY remote that works everything except TIVO and the BOSE system. and that's ok....

    I need plain English, even Diagrams to make my life easier! Every installation guide I find leaves out one of the components so I have nothing to refer to that includes them all. So far, it's been a trial and error event each time I add a component! Right now, my VCR isn't connected because I wasn't sure where to put it in the mix.
    When I talk to people at Home Theater stores, they are way over my head!

    I want to be able to
    1) record one channel on TIVO while watching regular TV.
    2) I want to be able to Download TIVO recorded items onto VCR tapes (it says you can do this!)
    3) I'd like to finally use the PIP feature on my TV! I don't even know where to begin with this!

    Any help would be appreciated!

    Thanks a bunch -
     
  2. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the Bose have svideo video switching?
     
  3. Wes Goff

    Wes Goff Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    To simplify things, plug everything into your tv(audio and vidio) which you will need to get a s-video switcher since your tv has only one s-vid input. For surround soud, just use audio jacks from tv into just 1 input on bose system. you will only get pro logic surround but I think the bose 30 is only pro-logic any way. I would go into detail how to hook everything else, but as a suggestion, you would be much better off getting a new rec. w/ s-vid switching and dolby dig. for about $400.
     
  4. Sheri

    Sheri Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Bose 30 has Digital 5.1 Decoding and VideoStage Decoding and I'd like to continue using this....even if it's not true surround sound, it's better than nothing.

    I dont' believe the Bose System has an S video connection - I'm using a digital oplink connection from the DVD player to the Bose system.
    My TV only has 2 inputs for audio/video connections so I don't even have enough room to run everything through it. The sound is much better through the Bose than through the TV.
    I have two zones and speakers all over the house and outside by the pool, so I really don't want to give up on this system....I invested too much into it in the past 2 years!
    Thanks for your help
     
  5. Garrett Lundy

    Garrett Lundy Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    What model TV, VCR, and cable-box do you have? This information could help us in deciding how everything works.
     

Share This Page