What's new

Bob Carver (1 Viewer)

LarryAlan

Auditioning
I am just getting into HT after purchasing a 62 inch Mitsubishi DLP Tele. While technology has pushed on since the days when I was a pseudoaudiophile, it has left my old equipment out of the loop for HT, although it still would be great for good old stereo. Anyway, I have several pieces of Carver equipment, including amplifiers, pre-amp, and tuner. Back when Bob Carver was reinventing the amplifier I though his pieces sounded very good. I now find he's the Sunfire company and I've read he has designed some wonderful pieces. I think I'm at the point I would consider a good receiver vs. separates, and wanted to know of anyone's experiences with specifically the Ultimate Receiver and the True Subwoofer Signature. Some people used to consider Carver's designs gimmicky (like the magnetic field amplifiers) and I wondered how he is currently regarded in today's equipment market.

Thanks for any input you can provide

LarryAlan

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
Overhyped? The "Ultimate" receiver is certainly powerful, but you shouldn't expect a real-world 200watts/channel. Power issues aside, the SUR will usually get a "very good" write up. But at that price level, you might want to consider seperates anyway.

As for the True Subwoofer: Overpriced. Its a good $900 subwoofer regardless.

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Phil