What's new

best way to learn programming languages (1 Viewer)

Kevin T

Screenwriter
i'm currently a student in college majoring in information systems. right now i'm taking a class in java and this is really the only programming language my college focuses on. i just started school in august so i'm gonna be here for close to 4 or 5 years (advanced master's program). my personal career goal is to work in network administration but for now i think it's imperative that i learn as much as i can about everything. in my spare time, i'm fidgeting with sql but i'd also like to learn c++ and/or visual c++. basically i want to learn as much as possible so that when i graduate i'm not a one trick pony, but fairly well versed in the most commonly used platforms. of course, becoming a master of all these will be quite impossible but i've got 4 or 5 years to try. what would people in the know here recommend as a way of learning these other programs and languages. i've seen books and cd-roms on ebay but how effective are these really? just wondering as i'm taking a break from a program i'm working on. thanks guys.
kevin t

Kevin P

Screenwriter
As a programmer who's been at it for so long it's scary
wink.gif
I can tell you that the first language is always the hardest to learn. This is because you're not just learning the syntax of the language, you're also learning the programming concepts and techniques that are used in many languages.
My advice is to concentrate on one language to start with, perhaps Java in your case. Get good at it, become comfortable with the style and structure used in Java (object oriented programming concepts in particular), and once you're comfortable with coding in Java (and in creating code in general) and are halfway decent at it, you can more easily dive into other languages like C++ and Visual Basic.