What's new

Best sealed enclosure for PE DVC#295-185 (1 Viewer)

Shawn.G

Second Unit
What would be the best sealed enclosure I can build for this 12 inch driver? I want it to go down to 25Hz and I will polyfill it.

Shawn.G

Second Unit
I have already done that. I would like some other help from all of you though other than ISD. Unibox won't work. Has anybody built a sealed eclosure with this driver? This is my first time and I would like some links to people's sites with projects posted. I tried with ISD and with a 5.56ft3 enclosure, I got 30Hz. I want the sub to go to 25Hz. Is this going to be a problem? Does ISD take in account polyfill or placement in a room? If it does, tell me how. I would like to have some help though. Links would be great for your sealed enclosure project. Thanks.

Dan Hine

Screenwriter
A 5.56cubic foot sealed enclosure is way to big for any of the 12" drivers that are worth purchasing IMO. For something like the Shiva, Dayton DVC, or Titanic you'll be looking at more 1.5-2cubic feet.
When you say "I got 30hz." what do you mean? Using which sub, with how much power? Personally, if you can go over 5cubic feet then I would look at a bass reflex design using a port. Say, with the Dayton DVC something around 3-3.5 cubic feet tuned to 22-25hz. That should give you pretty good output and decent extension to boot.
You should also try doing a search, you'll find LOTS of threads exactly like yours where questions have already been answered by people much smarter than me. ;)
Oh, and here are some links to subwoofer projects
Link Removed
And here...follow the navigation bar on the left.
That should give you a start. And one last thing. What do you mean "unibox won't work?"
Dan Hine

Brian Bunge

Senior HTF Member
Dan,