What's new

Batman or Lost in Space in the future? (1 Viewer)

Brenton

Screenwriter
Anyone know anything about the possibility that we'll see season-by-season sets of either Batman or Lost in Space? These shows are classics, and well-loved in spite of their campiness. Perfect candidates for season-by-season sets like which we've been seeing so much of lately.
On second thought, both shows ran for only three seasons, maybe it would be more worth-it for them to be released as an entire series!
As far as I know, not a single episode of either series is available on DVD. That baffles me.

Kenny Goldin

Second Unit
I wouldn't mind seein LIS at all...I always kinda liked it from what I saw every now and then. Would buy it at the right price.:emoji_thumbsup:

cafink

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl Fink
I'm no expert on the subject, so please don't take my word as gospel, but as I understand it, there are some serious legal hurdles to overcome with regards to "Batman."

As I understand it, Warner owns the rights to the Batman character, while Fox owns the "Batman" TV series itself. In this unfortunate situation, the series can't be released unless the two studios strike some sort of a deal, and neither wants to shell out enough cash.

From what I've heard, we should consider ourselves quite lucky that we got "Batman: The Movie" on DVD. It was quite a risk on Fox's part.

I guess I'll just keep tuning in to TV Land every night.

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Carl is quite correct.

BATMAN has been under legal woes for quite
some time, and I can tell you that Fox has
been extremely interested in releasing the
TV series to DVD.

As for LOST IN SPACE....

I have been pushing for the release of this
TV series to DVD. Unfortunately, Fox no longer
owns the rights to it. I have been trying to
find out who does. My best guess is perhaps
we will see it released under the Columbia House
label.

David Lambert

Senior HTF Member