What's new

Basic Set-Up; Sound Questions (1 Viewer)

Ty P.

Auditioning
I have just set up a pretty basic home theater system (5.1) in an addition we had built. Here are the components:

Samsung HD ready DLP TV
Yamaha RX-V2400 receiver
Sony DVD/CD carousel 5/disk player
Digital cable + HDTV converter box (Cox)

All audio and video feeds into the receiver via component video cables & optical audio cables. Five speakers (two rear) and a sub.

Everything is set up and seems to be working fine. Video looks great.

My questions are about the surround sound system. There are a lot of settings available on this receiver (THX, TV Theater, DD/DTS …). How do I know I am getting the most out of the sound system when I: 1) play audio CD’s; 2) watch digital cable (HD and non HD); and 3) Watch DVDs? Since I’m new to home theater my surround sound audio experience is nil.

Should the receiver automatically select the best sound settings depending on the source input? (It does not seem to be doing that.) I have played with the settings a bit but there are so many variables it could take me months to “test” all my audio setting options? I do know, for example, setting the audio to “5.1 surround” sounds great when I play a music CD. Are there some general guidelines here to get me started? Also, how do I get this receiver to stop displaying “zone 2” and “zone 3” in the display window? I don’t have any other zones connected. The manual is NO help here. Thanks in advance.

Mike_Skeway

Second Unit
Most receivers will auto select either DD or DTS depending on what you selected on your DVD. As for CD and TV and whatever else it is all a matter of preference. Play around with your different sources and see what you like best for them.

For CD's I like stereo, for TV I use either DTS:Neo 6 or Dolby Prologic 2. For DVD's it is whatever the dvd has or which track I select on the DVD menu, lots of titles offer both DD and DTS.