Avia disc, get one or use internal channel level gen.?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Daniel T., May 3, 2003.

  1. Daniel T.

    Daniel T. Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have run across the mention if the Avia disc a few times now, and my searches don't dig up much on how it goes about its thing. I have used the amp's built-in generator and my DV45's built-in to get the speakers up to snuff. Question is, is the disc gonna do anything better?
     
  2. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  3. James Edward

    James Edward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2000
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure exactly what Phil meant, but here is why I think the disc is the better option:

    When you play the disc, you are calibrating the system from end to end- through the DVD player, the decoder, the preamp, amp, and speakers. Any one of these could theoretically affect the output level of each channel.

    I have had two receivers, Onkyo and NAD, and both varied by as much as 6db from their internal test tones on some channels to what was on the disc. I used VE, for what it's worth.
     
  4. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Daniel T.

    Daniel T. Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. Jon_Welker

    Jon_Welker Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me ask a question here due to my own ignorance. Will one of these demo discs set up my speakers than the MCACC feature on my 45TX? I think it sounds pretty good right now, outside of some minor adjustments yet to be made. My biggest concern is video. Does it offer a lot on video calibration? Thanks in advance.
     
  7. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. steven pm

    steven pm Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Avia also has overscan patterns, which are handy if you know how to access your tv's service menus.

    Also, the audio parts include sweep tone with frequency readout, which really helps improve the sub setup (placement, crossover, phase...)
     
  9. Daniel T.

    Daniel T. Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went and got a SPL meter. Fired up the test tones and began the task of calibrating. Started at the volume I normally watch TV/mildly amusing movies at. I was dead on with the surrounds and mains, my center was 3db off(not bad for just using my ears eh?). Then ramped up the volume to where I listen to favorite movies, and re-checked the calibration. The surrounds picked up 1-2db over the other speakers(efficient little guys I guess), so I now know how to set em for optimal sound field.

    -Sidenote. Pink Floyd DSOTM SACD holds together much better now in 5.1, still prefer the original NON-highrez stereo mix, but the 5.1 is nippin at its heels.
     
  10. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    I cannot recommend Avia/VE enough because of the video patterns and calibration. Sure, it's good for audio, well better than the internal test tones, and you can do sub sweeps and whole hosts of stuff past the basic receiver tones, but the main benefit is video. If you've never messed with your TV, you don't know what you're missing. TV's come out of the factory with absolutely horrible settings that reduce their lifespan and produce over-saturated, over sharpened, WAY too bright pictures that look like crap. Just a basic calibration via Avia or VE can give you HUGE improvements, even on those old, cheesy crappy tv's that many people have. And of course to do the audio, with or without Avia/VE, which you should get too, you must have the SPL meter.
     

Share This Page