What's new

av receivers - accept incorrect component names/types? (1 Viewer)

Mario_S

Grip
hi. i'm kind of new to home theater, but something seems pretty silly about av receivers to me. i've got a tivo, xbox, gamecube that i plan on hooking up to a new av receiver that i buy. obviously there are no named inputs for these on any receivers i've seen. in fact, i plan on buying one with 2 component inputs and usually those are labeled dvd and sat/dbs. do people just accept that they have to select "dvd" when they want to play xbox, or select "sat/dbs" when they want to play gamecube, or select "vcr" when they want to watch tivo? what types of receivers (if any) just use generic names like "video1, video2, video3, etc"? also, are there any that let you program the name that is displayed on the receiver display? this stuff is complicated enough for me, i'd hate to explain to my wife why she has to click "vcr" when she wants to watch tivo. any ideas?

Kris McLaughlin

Stunt Coordinator
Mario,
Many receivers will let you name the inputs whatever you want. My Sony receiver is a few years old and by no means high end, but it has this feature. Every radio preset & every input gets its own name, 10 characters with upper/lower case & punctuation. Sweet!

cheers,

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Both my current Pioneer Elite 47TX and former Sony DA50ES allowed inputs to be renamed for display on the receiver's LCD readout. This is a fairly common feature for receivers. However, if the receiver's remote control has pre-printed labeled buttons, you will still be pressing "Video 1" or "Sat/DBS" on your remote, even though the display may read "Tivo" or "Playstation". You will need a remote control with soft keys to avoid such a scenario.

Mario_S

Grip
do you mean by "soft" keys - a remote with a screen like the ones on the high-end denon receivers?