What's new

Athena's: Goddess? (1 Viewer)

Cathy

Grip
Hi. This is my very first post. I'm rather new to this home audio thing. I'm looking for a nice set of entry-level speakers, but I want them to be something I can still use when I eventually want to expand/upgrade my system. I've demo'd a few so far, but the Athena S2's have been the most convincing. I'm not sure if I'm listening for the right things.

Has anyone ever heard these speakers? What are your opinions? I've compared them to the Klipsch SB2, Paradigm MiniMonitors, Mirage FRx Three, and B&W DM303. In my opinion, the Klipsch's were too bright, and the bass from B&W wasn't impressive. As for the MiniMonitors and FRx Three, I can't really tell.

I would appreciate anyone's personal and/or technical input. Thanks in advance!

BruceD

Screenwriter
Cathy,

Welcome to the forum!!!!

I haven't heard of them before, but that doesn't mean anything.

Can you give us a little more info on the Athena speakers?

Do they have a website? Where did you listen to them?

felix_suwarno

Screenwriter
i heard someone said in this forum that athena speakers and axiom are really similar. the factory is the same. i could be wrong though. but if it were true, ya know, axiom is a good brand. and i did pay athena website a visit months ago. looked nice.

Bob Sheen

Stunt Coordinator
Athena's are marketed by the same company that markets Energy Speakers in Canada (Audio Products International Corp). They've basically replaced the Sound Dynamics line of speakers.
Web site at: http://www.athenaspeakers.com
I've seen and heard the Audition line....Nice speakers.
Bob

Cathy

Grip
Bruce
Like Bob said, they're made by API. There are three very basic lines; the SCT line, Audition series that Bob mentioned, and the Point Five Series.