What's new

Aspect ratio, size and black bars? (1 Viewer)

Mirko

Agent
I just fired up my new Panasonic TH-42PWD6 plasma.

I have watched three films on it and I'm surprised that they all occupy different amounts or screen real estate.

Gangs of New Yourk is very extended in horizontal dimesnsion with fairly large black bars at top and bottom. Shanghai Knights is also horizontally elongated with smaller black bars. The Perfect Murder fills the whole screen.

I bought this monitor thinking that since it was bigger horizontally than vertically, it would be the right ratio for movies. Why the discrepancy in the three films and why the black bars?

Thanks,

Mirko

PS: I am very new to all this

David Abrams

Stunt Coordinator
Mirko,

The 16x9 standard (also known as 1.78:1) came about as a happy medium between most 2.35:1 and 4x3 (also known as 1.33:1). Basically, when television came about movies went widescreen in order to help compete with the television. We have also learned a great deal more about how we see since the original aspect ratio of 1.33:1. Because of this the developers of our HDTV system decided that an aspect ration of 1.78:1 would be the best way to go. Movies are still shot in wider aspect ratios such as the "Gangs of New York", but the black bars are smaller than they would be on a 1.33:1 display.

Movies are actually shot in many different aspect ratios. Some are shot in the 1.78:1 aspect ratio which will fill the screen on an HDTV set exactly, other movies may be shot in 2.35:1 leaving small black bars, ect...The only black bars you should see on the side are when watching some foreign films or 1.33:1 standard def material.

Congrats on the new display! :emoji_thumbsup:

Paul Pratt

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Paul Pratt
Mirko,