What's new

Are first party component cables good or is the extra money worth it? (1 Viewer)

Brandon Hines

Auditioning
Real Name
Brandon Hines
In terms of the PS2/Xbox/GCN...

Are the first party cables good? Or are the Monster and other brands worth the price of admission? I just bought my first HD/1080p display (Westinghouse LVM-37w3) and I want do upgrade myself properly.

Fair warning, I'm totally new to home theater in terms of accessory brands.

CaseyL

Supporting Actor
I'm not sure that the monster cables are that much better if any. I've not done A > B comparisons, but based on the general quality of monster cables, I can't see them being much better than the 1st party cables.

Nathan A

Second Unit
I haven't tried the more expensive Monster ones, but I do use the official 1st-party component cables for the XBox, PS2, and Gamecube on a 55" Mits, and I have no complaints. I doubt the Monster cables would really be worth it for most people.

Mary M S

Screenwriter
I have not had good luck with a Monster S-V and a Monster component set.
The component gave my Sony RP LCD blooming reds and a softer pic.
I had a set of (I Think) Better Cables (mid line? they carry a good/better/best)
Cost was possibly same as Monster (I'd have to look it all up).

The PQ was noticebly improved with the Better Cables. In any future purchases, I'm planning on going with (some) other brand.

EricW

Senior HTF Member
i may be in the minority but i had the monster's for my 360 for about a month and i thought they were really good. whether they're worth it is entirely subjective.

i was hesitant to get them because A) i thought Monster was like the Bose of cables, and B) if the 360 ever goes HDMI then component is a waste as the 360 can't upconvert SD DVDs via component.