What's new

Are all flared vents created equal? (1 Viewer)

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
I have decided on my tempest sonotube design.

175L, 18" sonotube, 45" length w/1.5" endcaps, 64oz polyfill, (1) 4" flared port 13" long tuned to 17.5Hz. Dan has helped me with this design. My question is, are all 4" flared vents the same? I could buy the Adire kit, the Lightning audio kit or the PE aeroport kit. Should I just go with the cheapest one? Is one stronger or better than the others? I have never used a flared kit before so I have no idea.

Thanks!

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
Lightning Audio = Aeroport, and I believe that's what Adire sells, same as PE. I think there's another one Madisound sells, not made by Aeroport, but it's the same. I have a couple that don't say "Aeroport", I think I got them from Madisound a few years ago.

Mark Hayenga

Supporting Actor
The Madisound ones are a little different - they come with screw holes pre-drilled and a little texture along the rim of the port. I use them b/c they're a little bit cheaper and there's no real performance difference.

Mike Dr

Stunt Coordinator
jeff, just wondering, what made you decide on that particular configuration? LspCad seems to suggest a larger volume.

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
Mike,

The EBS design calls for 10ft^3, that would make the sub about 7ft tall. I want to draw attention to it but not THAT much attention. I think you were the one that found the design I am doing if I'm not mistaken. You had asked about it a while back when you found another post by Dan W. This is also the same design that Hank built and he said it is very good.