Anyone using Verizon FIOS?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ronald Epstein, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,616
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I currently am a Comcast broadband subscriber.

    This past month Verizon wired my neighborhood
    with fiber optic cable. Shortly, they will be
    introducing their new Fios service which
    is supposed to outpace cable company offerings
    with blazingly faster broadband speed.

    I am quite excited by this news -- especially
    for the fact that the faster Fios is supposed
    to be at least $10 cheaper a month.

    Was hoping someone here is actually using Fios
    and can tell me how much faster it is over cable.
    I remember reading an article in USA TODAY or
    THE WALL STREET JOURNAL less than 2 weeks ago from
    a columnist who was touting the speed difference.

    The only thing that worries me about Fios
    is cable competition. I understand that once
    Fios goes widespread, the cable companies
    are going to increase their broadband speed to
    match or exceed what the Verizon service is offering.

    In other words, it may or may not be worth
    switching providers if there is a cloud of
    competition on the horizon.
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would definitely make the switch if Fios was available in my area. I have yet to hear anyone complain about the speed of it. Everything I've heard is that it is definitely worth it to switch from cable. Especially since it is cheaper!

    I would switch to Fios for now. If the cable companies do retaliate with a better offering, then wait about 6-12 months and see what financial incentives they'll give you to switch back.

    Personally, I would not hesitate to switch at all.
     
  3. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had FIOS for almost a year now and couldn't be happier. I'm getting exactly 15mbits down and 2mbits up on speed tests (when the server on the other side is up to it) which is the promised speed for my connection. Downloaded Fedore Core 3, both the DVD and 4 CD's at same time in (IIRC) about 2-2.5 hours.
     
  4. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,492
    Likes Received:
    1,382
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    If you don't need the extra speed, you can leverage the threat of switching services to get a price decrease from your current service. A quick call to ask if they will match or beat the FIOS price, with the threat of leaving, may save you some cash and the bother of switching services.
     
  5. LDfan

    LDfan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Verizon has been laying fiber like crazy here in Northern Va. For some strange reason my cable company Cox, all of the sudden bumped the internet speeds to match the Fios speeds without bumping the cost(5MBit and 15Mbit depending on what package).

    You might want to sit and see how your cable company will react.

    Jeff
     
  6. Bob_Chase

    Bob_Chase Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Coaxial cable just doesn't have the same bandwidth as the FIOS. Sure the speeds are close now but cable is approaching its max speed and FIOS still has a waaaaaaays to go before they hit their cap. Sooner or later the coax cable companies are screwed.

    Also of interest: Verizon will be offering television services via the fiber channel very soon. According to an article in last week's Wall Street Journal, the first city in the country to recieve the FIOS service last year (the name escapes me--somewhere in Texas) received television services last week via FIOS. 150 channels for $37.00/month.

    The cable monopoly is just about over (at least until Comcast buys Verizon. [​IMG] )
     
  7. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's where the FIOS Internet was launched as well, Keller TX. Lucky me! I'm on the phone waiting for customer service right now to order... [​IMG]

    Or maybe not:

    "What FiOS doesn't offer are local channels or any programming that differentiates it from its cable and satellite rivals."

    http://www.mediaweek.com/mw/news/cab..._id=1001179194

    Then again from other source:

    "The services include:
    * Basic, with access to 15-35 local broadcast, weather and community
    channels, as well as video-on-demand, for $12.95 per month. The service
    is digital with a set-top box. Basic is also available as an analog
    service that does not require a set-top box for viewing.

    * Expanded Basic, Verizon's lead offer, delivers more than 180 video and
    music channels for $39.95 a month. This tier includes access to 600 on-
    demand titles now, with 1,800 by year end. This service requires a
    standard-definition set-top box or a high-definition set-top box for HD
    channels.

    * La Conexion, a tier designed for bilingual consumers who enjoy TV
    programs in English and Spanish, for $32.95 per month. The package
    includes nearly 140 channels with English- and Spanish-language
    programming and access to nearly 600 on-demand titles.
    This service requires a standard-definition set-top box or a high-
    definition set-top box for HD channels."

    http://www.prnewswire.com/cgi-bin/st...4113325&EDATE=
     
  8. Todd Harlan

    Todd Harlan Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had FIOS for about a year and couldn't be more pleased with it. I have had zero problems and everytime I check the speed it's exactly as advertised (15/2).

    Here are the some PDF's of the FIOS TV lineup/rates...

    FIOS TV Lineup

    FIOS TV Rates
     
  9. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be wary at first about switching to FIOS. There are two things you should know...

    1)You'll loose any DSL connection you currently have if you subscribe to Verison Buisness DSL. We found this out the hard way...

    2)You also loose dialup service, unless you specifically tell them to wire it to receive dial up signals. That means in case the service ever goes out(wich it did for us in the first month, has been running smoothly since May), you're stuck without dialup to rely on...

    good part is, the customer service people are pretty darn reliable and know there stuff, so you shouldn't have a problem there..

    Anyway, we've been running it since April, and after a few false starts, things have been running smoothly since May.

    Good luck [​IMG]


    Edit: Also if anyone hears about Verizon TV Testing for my town, please be sure to psot it. I emailed the local government and havn't gotten a response yet.
     
  10. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,940
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    As soon as I can get it, I will. Comcast has GOT to go.

    Sam
     
  11. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,616
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Sam,

    We live close to one another. I expect they
    will be in your neighborhood soon.

    Another question....

    Is the speed of Fios dependent on how many people
    are on-line in your neighborhood at the given moment?
    I know cable is -- just wondering if it is the same
    for Fios?
     
  12. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the bandwidth is so much wider that there is much more room for higher speeds.
     
  13. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    How does FiOS enter the home? Does the installer need to run a new cable (fiber) or does it come in on an existing cable or phone line?
     
  14. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    They will need to run fiber to the premise. Then they will install a distributing box inside your house. Internet will be Cat5 cable, TV was said to be still coax and I'm not sure about telephone (as I didn't subscribe for it).
     
  15. SarahG

    SarahG Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may have to check into this FIOS. I've been hearing about it for a little while but never really found out enough about it to switch. I've heard that the FIOS also can improve the quality of VoIP service. Probably wouldn't matter in my case because the quality I get is fine anyway.

    Comcast is going to really be in for it if they don't keep up. They have enough going against them already with the customer service issues this year and the fact they wouldn't show the nationals games. Cable companies in general I think are going to have to really keep up to stay up.
     
  16. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: I received FIOS TV a few weeks ago and I have to say so far I'm VERY HAPPY customer. Much better PQ than Dish Network, receivers have much better connectivity (USB, RS232, optical sound etc.) but I haven't searched yet if there is software that supports them. And it comes with a much better price than Dish, even before the discount I got by having both internet and TV from them.

    And no more $5/month charges per receiver for not having a phone line to connect to. These receivers get their updates from the FIOS internet connection. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page