Anyone power their DIY Subs with old receivers?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Andrew S, Apr 20, 2003.

  1. Andrew S

    Andrew S Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always read of people power their subs with plate amps, etc,. but I can't afford to shell out the cost for a plate amp, so I just use an old Pioneer receiver.
    I was wondering if anyone else was in the similar situation?
    Thanks,
    Andrew
     
  2. Michael Hartwig

    Michael Hartwig Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I originally powered my Tempest with my JVC receiver that was rated at 120 RMS 8 ohms/channel. I used both L and R to power the DVC of the Tempest. I found by using the DVC capabilities of the Tempest with my JVC I was getting a flatter response down to 20Hz than I do now with my Adire AV250 running 4 ohms with the Tempest DVC shorted to 4ohms. But the AV 250 does give me more slam. So I gain in one area and loose in another.
    That's my experience.
     
  3. Cam S

    Cam S Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard of alot of people powering subs with old receivers. I didn't have an old one that wasn't in use already so I had no choice but to go with a plate amp, and I'm kinda glad I did as it's more of a complete package.
     
  4. Joel X

    Joel X Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I power my sub and bass shakers with old receivers and think it is a great idea. No problems here...
     
  5. Jonathan_D

    Jonathan_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I power my Tempest with an old H/K integrated amp. While its not a lot of power, it *can* shake shelves on the walls.

    I agree, I think its a great idea if you've got spare amplification hanging around.
     
  6. Jeremy Stockwell

    Jeremy Stockwell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    I power my DIY Tempest Sonosub with an old Kenwood Pro-Logic receiver from college (100W x 2). Works fine. I would recommend using a driver with DVC so that you can use both the left and right channels to get max from the amp.

    The only potential problem is HEADROOM. I don't often play DVD's anywhere near reference, but when experimenting with higher levels, I can tell that the sub amp can't keep up as it approaches reference.

    If you've got the hardware lying around, I would definitely try it, at least.

    JKS
     
  7. JeffTodd

    JeffTodd Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    I power my SVS based sonosub with my old Aiwa prologic receiver (supposedly 100w per)......it works well, but I am hoping to get a plate amp to push it better.
     
  8. Stuart A.

    Stuart A. Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is everyone using for a crossover?
     
  9. Andrew S

    Andrew S Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stuart, I don't know about everyone else, but I basically just use the built in crossovers in my receiver and then send it to my older receiver. On my receiver I just turn the treble all the way down the bass at normal. I don't know if this is the correct way to do it, but it suits my tastes well.
     
  10. Ben Ven

    Ben Ven Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I power my sub with an old Pioneer receiver, VSX-9500S. It is rated at 125W per channel. You can run 2 subs if you have an A/B set up on your receiver. I wonder if a plate amp would sound better with my set up?? Anyway, I am too cheap to spend the money on a plate amp [​IMG] . The Pioneer seems to have plenty of oomph.
    Andrew, at least on my receiver, the tone controls are bypassed when I input the sub signal from my Yamaha receiver to the Pioneer receiver pre amp input. No need to turn down the treble control. FYI.
     
  11. Owen Bartley

    Owen Bartley Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was doing this last year with an old 10" car sub. It was powered with everything from an old mini-system (!) to a Kenwood 1970's receiver at about 80 - 100 wpc.

    For a crossover, I just picked up one of those big $10 coils (capacitor, right?) on a little PCB from an electronics store. It was supposed to block out about 100Hz and up. I built a little box for it, and ran it between the amp and sub. For a ghetto solution, it didn't work too badly.
     
  12. Jonathan_D

    Jonathan_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page