What's new

Anyone heard of Realistic Mach 2 Main speakers? (1 Viewer)

DanBriones

Auditioning
I saw some at a garage sale for under $100. They look like a decent set of speakers. 3 way with a Horn tweeter, maybe a 4" mid, and a 15" woofer. Im a newbie to this HT and this is actually my first post here. I was thinking of buying these for mains, although i built a 88.5 liter subwoofer with the Shiva driver and a PE 250w amp for the bass (excellent sub for under $300 by the way). My mains now are an ancient pair of technics 2 way paper tweeter and a 8" woofer. Just wondering if anyone here has heard of em or used em in a HT set-up. I read a few reviews on the Mach 2 but none of them where in HT set-up that I remember. I might just buy them anyway worst that could happen is I'll have to make a garage setup out of them :)
Thanks for any help.
Dan

WilliamG

Supporting Actor
Dan,

I still have a set of these! Actually, I just upgraded from the Mach II's to the JBL NSP1's and PB12 subwoofer about a month ago. I bought those gargantuan things about 15 years ago, and they still sounded good; they're relegated to my storage building out back now. Loose connection or something in one of the speakers-the sound kept 'bumping' in and out.And I needed to get something that would keep up with today's technology-I was afraid I was missing out. IMO, you'll still need a sub to keep up w/the movies today-SOOO much more bass capability.

I *think* I originally paid ~$350 for the pair, so depending on their condition, under $100 would be pretty good. Use your own judgement however. Try to see if you could hook them up and audition them though.

Good luck!

DanBriones

Auditioning