Anyone have problems with Shaw cable modem connections?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AaronNWilson, Sep 7, 2001.

  1. AaronNWilson

    AaronNWilson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    My cable connection goes on and off, and it is usually off for a total of about an hour EVERYDAY. Has anyone else had similar problems?
    Aaron
     
  2. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds familiar...
    I complained to Rogers@Home about the frequent outtages but they just replied with an email in the form of a "form letter". The problem eventually corrected itself, but it's problem that all broadband/cable modem users experience due to the exponential growth of the network and technology.
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
     
  3. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Oops! Double post.
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
    [Edited last by Richard Travale on September 08, 2001 at 07:02 PM]
     
  4. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    I guess I'm lucky that I don't live in an upper middle-class neighbourhood. I am always hearing from my friends who live there that they have problems. The less people in the area on cable, the better(IMHO of course).
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
     
  5. Graeme Clark

    Graeme Clark Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2000
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have problems from time to time, but it's not that frequent, and much much better than the ADSL we had at my previous job. That connection was going down all the time. Our connection seems to go down a lot less since Shaw took over for Rogers here in Vancouver.
    If it's happening every day, you may want to contact Shaw to see if there is any possible reason for it. Shaw is in the process of ditching @Home and starting their own network for their internet service. Also, from what I understand, they are slowly switching everyone to use Dynamic IP addresses.
    A friend of mine was also having problem with his connection going down. He was told that everyone had to get new modems to accomodate these changes, so they came out and installed a new one for him and everything has been fine. This hasn't affected me yet though.
    ------------------
     
  6. AaronNWilson

    AaronNWilson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I have contacted Shaw but trying to get them to do any connection work just because one person complains is virtually impossible. They work on the problems whenever they want to, which I find really irritating.
    Another thing which is annoying is that I currently have shaw and telus adsl because I have been testing them so that I can decide which is better.
    Shaw download speeds:4.6megabits
    Shaw ping to my fave game server:48ms
    Shaw connection quality:terrible
    Telus download speeds:1.5 megabits
    Telus ping to my fave game server:92ms
    Telus connection quality:excellent
    In 365 days of using telus it has been down 2 days.
    In 28 days of using shaw it has been down 3 days, and losing connection everyday for about an hour or more.
    AAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGH
    I can't decide which is to keep.
    Aaron
     
  7. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aaron I know how you feel. When we first got a cable modem it would go down for days at a time. The problem didn't fix itself until the company upgraded their servers (and everyones cable modems). But the best speed I can get is still only 1 mbps! And I'm lucky to get that.
    I think the reason is because our cable company isn't that big (such as Rogers or Shaw), it's just a small local one. And Telus hasn't started offering DSL in our area yet.
    The only other options I have are 56k dial-up, or 128k ISDN. So I'll be sticking with my cable for now [​IMG]
    Peter
     

Share This Page