What's new

Anyone ever heard of Reel Acoustics sub? (1 Viewer)

PaulDA

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Paul
I was auditioning a set of Paradigm Monitor 5s w/cc-370 centre with 2 and multi-channel music. Curiously enough, the dealer had them working in conjunction with Reel Acoustics 10" sub (don't remember the model no.) I asked him why not with one of the Paradigm subs and he told me the Reel was a better musical fit with the Monitor 5s. It sounded quite nice to me, not bloated or too aggressive. Not a floorshaking experience, (didn't use it with a DVD movie) but quite musical. I must point out two things.

1. I prefer clean, accurate bass to boomy thumping. I may be in the minority but I'm not seeking to be thrown out of chair.

2. I have very little experience with subs (other than my basic, non adjustable [except amp. gain] H/K sub in my current set-up).

I realize there are some killer subs out there, most likely better than this one, even at its price point of 450$ Canadian. I'm not restricted to this price point (have about 200-300 to spare) nor am I committed to this product. I did like it, though. Does anyone know anything about it? A google search is unrevealing.

Chris Quinn

Screenwriter
That should be Rel Acoustics. I didn't think Rel had anything that inexpensive. Sure it wasn't $1450? If it was labeled REEL Acoustics or $450 new I'd stay away from it and the dealer that is trying to pull one over.

PaulDA

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Paul
It is Reel Acoustics, and I know it sounds a bit suspicious. However, the store is very well respected in Montreal http://www.laytonaudio.ca/index.asp

I don't know why the manager would steer me to something sub-optimal as my budget doesn't require it and he has a wide variety of products on offer. I do know that Reel is a Canadian company and perhaps he's trying to help out a local or friend. If so, as long as there's nothing wrong with the product, I have no problem with it. My only concern would be reliability.