Any NEW boxes for switching dvd-a/sacd ?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by anthony_b, Apr 4, 2003.

  1. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Are there any new devices out there to switch between SACD and DVD-A ? (I know about the radio shack boxes, but I was wondering if there's anything new out there).
     
  2. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    4
    There are some switch boxes available from MCM electronics that are somewhat higher quality (at least in terms of fit and finish) than the RS boxes. I had posted a link some time ago but could not find now. They were about $10 each.

    These A/V switchers will actually switch 4 devices. As with the RS box, you will need two boxes, but you could conceivably switch 4 separate 5.1 sources.

    I have two that I use to switch a Pioneer 45a, and another DD decoder into an ICBM. They are transparent to my ears, although I am sure some will disagree.

    BGL
     
  3. Charles Gurganus

    Charles Gurganus Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 1999
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Niles has a PS-1 box that sells for about $50 but you would need 3 of them.
     
  4. Dan Hitchman

    Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you haven't bought the players yet, I'd suggest waiting to see what the next generation of universal players bring.

    Denon may be the first to offer a universal player (DVD-2900) that keeps DSD bitstreams intact all the way through with no conversion (even some SACD-only players convert it to PCM at some stage). I'm sure more will follow. And then next year look for player transports with standardized (finally) IEEE 1394 connections so you don't have to buy 6 or more analog cords (once you hook it to a new receiver or pre-amp with the decoding built-in).

    Dan
     
  5. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the Yamaha keeps the DSD bitstream intact for the whole process as well, thats why it dosent offer time allignment on SACD.
     
  6. James Elvick

    James Elvick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1999
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a Shawn Fogg Switchbox and think it work perfect. I've also used a TA-P9000es but did not want to run my amps that way. I started with the RS switchers and they worked fine but wanted to be able switch via remote control.

    BTW, i have 2 of the RS switches #15-1587 that I'll trade for a DVD-A or multi SACD.[​IMG]

    Here's a link to the Fogg Box:

    http://home.attbi.com/~shawnfogg/

    James Elvick
     
  7. Elias

    Elias Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    James,

    In your opinion, is there a sonic difference between the RS switches and the Shawn Fogg box? Certainly, the Fogg box looks snazzier, but does it make a difference?

    I am considering either buying his box or creating my own box using 4PDT switches, gold-plated RCA jacks, and lots of wire and solder-- but only if there is a significant difference in the sound quality.

    Elias
     
  8. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not only does the Fogg Box look snazzier, it can be triggered remotely, so you don't have to manually switch between SACD and DVDA. I find this a BIG convenience. It works great with my RDC-7A and is well worth the dough IMHO.
     
  9. Mark Leitch

    Mark Leitch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    I admit the Fogg Box looks nice... though I am curious about anyone using the JVC JX-S111 as a 7.1 switch in one box (it is unclear if you can select multiple sources for the multiple monitor/zone outputs). If it does, it seems like it may be a pretty good deal for approx 80USD.

    M.
     
  10. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    4
    I would give this a shot before the RS switch:

    http://www.mcmelectronics.com/Newark...jsp?id=50-6195

    I doubt that it would sound any better or worse (actually, I don't think switches sound like anything) but the build quality is lot better (its got a steel case), and the rotary switch has a nice feel to it.

    I have a 4 input version that works fine in my rig. I was unable to find the RS boxes locally, went on-line and found these. You will need 2.

    Brian
     
  11. Mike Loiterman

    Mike Loiterman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the Fogg box add or detract from the sound quaility of the original source?
     
  12. Stephen Dodds

    Stephen Dodds Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 1998
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would the JVC box work? I could only count a possible 5 RCA inputs you could switch, L&R audio, and the three components.

    Steve
     
  13. Mark Leitch

    Mark Leitch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am unclear on the way the JVC works... I have been told that it has two sets of inputs and outputs... and if they were discrete it would have a lot of switching possibilities (not sure if I am being a bonehead... but it seems kinda unique ;-)

    M.
     
  14. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    The admin at the QUADRAPHONIC forum does not recommend using AV switches due to the fact that the video input was not meant for audio and therfore provide a low quality sound ?....I've read many forum members here are happy with the Radio shack boxes. Has anyone noticed any change in sound quality ?...the last thing I want to do is mess up the sound on my new 222ES [​IMG]
     
  15. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    4
     
  16. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sony switch box with audio and video paths. I opened it up because I was curious as to how it was wired, and voila, the video path was indentical to the audio paths...
     
  17. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    4
     
  18. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to be honest too: we all get freaked out by using cheap cables and stuff right? But this sucker had little wires etched onto one of those green circuit boards. Ain't no way that it was better than even 22 gauge I bet. Makes me wonder what kind of wiring is inside even good quality receivers, pre/pros, power amps and stuff...
     
  19. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    While everyone is looking for more expensive and "snazzier" switch boxes ([​IMG]), I've been using the $15 Radio Shack switch boxes for over a year and continue to be very happy with them. Frankly, this is one item in this hobby that it makes no sense to spend big money on. Just my $0.02. The Radio Shack switch boxes aren't fancy and have no remote, but they work and work well.


    Dan said:

     
  20. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keith- Shame, shame.

    It's thinking "inside all of 1 box" that gets you a uni-player... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page