What's new

Any Mac OSX Guru's out there... Please help. (1 Viewer)

Eric M Jones

Second Unit
After being a mac user for 10+ years I finally upgraded to a new machine and OSX. (Previously used klondike G3 with OS9)

My new Mac:
1.8 iMac G5, OSX 10.3.9, 1G RAM

I've only had this machine for 2 days and I'm still learning about the OS which is quite foreign compared to OS9. The problem I'm having is with my printer. After I installed the printer software I did a quick test with iphoto and it printed fine... So I assumed that it would work with oter apps too. This morning I attempted to print a .pdf with Preview. When I sent it to print the rainbow wheel spun for a while and then the Preview shut down and I was left with a dialouge box that stated "The app. unexpectedly quit." (No Kidding...) I assumed it may be an issue with Preview so I downloaded the Acrobat 7 reader. Long story short; same problem, same dialouge box. I tried Mail for kicks and it's doing the same thing. Went back to iPhoto and it printed fine.

I ran the OSX system disc checker and it said that the system was fine.

Any troubleshooting ideas?

-EJ

Pamela

Supporting Actor
Hmmm, not familiar with that problem. When glitches like that pop up, the first thing I do is repair permissions. You can boot up on the OS X disk and you will find it in the disk utility.

You can also download cocktail, which has a repair permissions function in it. I highly recommend this utility if you are running OS X. I run my scripts regularly, as well as repair permissions every once in a while.

Other than that, I'll have to think on it. . .

I switched to OS X not long after it came out and never looked back. Congrats on the new computer, and good luck!

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton
I had a problem like that after upgrading from Mac OS X 10.3 "Panther" to Mac OS X 10.4 "Tiger".