What's new

Any advice for learning to play guitar? (1 Viewer)

Rain

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rain
I've been saying for the last 15 years that one day I was going to learn how to play guitar. Ah, procrastination. I'm now 30 and starting from scratch.
Recent events have really driven home to me how fragile life is and how important it is to live each day as though it were the last. No more putting things off.
So, I went out this weekend and bought myself a guitar. Had my first lesson last night. Feels great to finally be doing it.
I was just wondering if any of the guitar playing Forum members might have any advice for me. Anything would be appreciated. In particular, is there anything I can do to help increase the flexibility of my fingers (aside from the obvious--practicing the guitar, which I'm already doing)?
Man, I never thought that it would be so painful to play a guitar. My left fingertips are sore, my right shoulder is sore, my neck was stiff as hell last night. Oh well, it's all worth it in the end.
------------------
ribbon.gif
RainHTFpic.jpg

"Imagine all the people, living life in peace..." - Imagine by John Lennon
Anyone in the Vancouver Canada area interested in a meet? Click here
MOVING ON DOES NOT MEAN FORGETTING.

Leroy

Second Unit
Aside from a few lessons to learn the basics(chord/scale structure, proper technique). I'd learn to "play by ear". I've been playing for about 12 years and am completely self taught. I got a chord chart and some scale patterns and went from there. I'm not the greatest player, but I can usually pick up the basics of a song after a few listens. And there is always that lovely creation known as tablature!!
That's just me though, so your mileage may vary.