What's new

Amplifiers and Receivers?? (1 Viewer)

Epic Becker

Auditioning
Real Name
Alec Becker
So I am BRAND new to home audio and would like to get a system. It would be nice if you guys could recommend me some good brands for the price for receivers and amplifiers for subwoofers. Also, if I want to run speakers off the receiver and just the subwoofers off the external amplifier does that work? Like I said, I've never done this before. Your help would be appreciated!

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
The standard list of decent receiver manufacturers is (in no particular order): Pioneer, Onkyo, Marantz, Yamaha, Harman/Kardon, and Denon. Almost all modern subwoofers have their own internal amplifier, you don't purchase one to run it. (Their called active subs, if you run across a passive sub, then you'll have to get an amp for it.)

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Are you planning to build your own sub? If not, buy a self-powered. Also...budget? Cause I can say Cambridge or NAD...but none of that matters if you say..."Oh, I only wanted to spend $500..." Also, what are your sources? Wii? Ipod? Droid? PS3?, XBox? VHS? PC?

Epic Becker

Auditioning
Real Name
Alec Becker
I am purchasing woofers by themselves and then building enclosures for them. Should be a fun project! So that is why I need the external amplifier to power it. For budget if possible about 400 on the external amplifier and around 400 on the receiver. For sources I would have my iPhone and Xbox 360. Your help is greatly appreciated!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam