Amp Change Problems with Box

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by AhsanR, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. AhsanR

    AhsanR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, well I am going from one amp to another, and unfortunately, I have run into a problem.

    I am gong from the Bash amplifier I bought at partx express with the dimensions of 12" W x 8" H x 3-1/2" D

    to the O audio Bash amplifier with 10.2 Width and 11.95 Height and 3.25 inch depth.

    Calculating that, I'll have a blank hole in my wall of two inches in width and eight inches in height. Any way I can alleviate that? What would happen if just nailed down another peice of wood on there?
     
  2. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the edges of the cutout are straight and flat you could glue and clamp pieces to make up the difference. Turn the new amp sideways and there is only 1.8" difference in the size. If this is your Avalanche sub why are you changing amps?
     
  3. AhsanR

    AhsanR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 500 watt Bash Amp from Parts Express have a +5 Bass boost at 35hz, meaning all the sound below 35hz is decreased by 5db!!!!! THE HEART AND SOUL OF A HT SUB!!! (I called to confirm, and when I asked the guy yelled at me and said I had to be insane to want 5 more db at 20hz - and that i'd blow the sub up, whatev).
     
  4. Owen Bartley

    Owen Bartley Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    AshanR, I think you have that backwards, see my reply to your other thread.
     
  5. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page