What's new

Advise on a budget HT system (1 Viewer)

vcmazzei

Grip
Real Name
Vinicius Mazzei
Folks, I intend to purchase a new HT system for my house. As I am a rookie on AV stuff, I initially went through some fancy HT shops, those in which they advise on configuration, sell it and install it for you. As you can imagine, it end-up being too expensive, so I decided to do by myself. My usage for the system will be XBOX, 46" LCD TV, Cable TV and iPod connectivity. I will also connect the laptop to watch some movies. Firstly, 5.1 with ceiling surround speakers would be fine, but wife wants 2 additional zones in which I intend to put ceiling speakers. The 3 rooms are not large and I am short on budget. I had a look at some HTiB and found Yamaha YHT-797. It seems to be a fair system with lot of air play connectivity which caught my attention, but does not have the Speaker B functionality (which I believe it is necessary for additional zones). I have also compared with Onkyo but read through some review on HDMI issues and at the shop, the guy said that Yamaha is better. Anyway, any slight difference in sound wont make happy as I my driver is reliability and the connectivity features. So, in order to address the triple zone, had to move from HTiB and purchase a different receiver. I have tried to get the same speaker specs from the HTiB above and my pick is: Receiver: Yamaha RX-V573 - It has the Speaker B and all those "glowing" Apple Air play features. What also amazed me is the AV controller App which you can control some Receiver functionality from your Apple gadget. It also has the Audio return feature that you don't need the digital audio and can do just with HDMIs. - $ 350 Center Speaker: Yamaha NS-C210BL. Same spec as of the HTiB - $ 100 Front Speakers: Yamaha NS-B210BL. Same spec as of the HTiB - $ 160 / set Sub woofer: Yamaha YST-SW216BL. Same spec as of the HTiB - $ 130 Surround: Yamaha NS-IW280CWH. I am not sure if a 3-way speaker is necessary for the surround,