What's new

Advice! Help!: New Receiver Driving Me Nuts! (1 Viewer)

Angelo.M

Senior HTF Member
I've been using a Sony STR DE-835 for a couple of years now--I'm happy with its DD/DTS performance but less than thrilled with its musical performance. I'm driving JBL S38II's in the front, N24's in the rear and a JBL HLS Center (no sub, my 2-year-old would use it as a table or worse).
So, I'm thinking it's time to get that high-current amp. I've listened to the Yamaha HTR-5550 and 5560, the H/K 125 and 225. Haven't auditioned the Onkyo or the Sony ES lines yet.
Any suggestions? Anything in particular to stay away from. Listening to my JBL S38II's at Best Buy in an acoustically abominable room hooked up to a Yamaha from a couple of years ago didn't impress, but I'm not using that as much of a litmus test for anything.
Advice? Suggestions? Help? This is driving me nuts!...
...Thanks in advance...:D

Greg Haynes

Supporting Actor
Well first, welcome to the board Angelo ;)
Now if you could give us a budget on what your looking to spend, it would help us narrow down a selection for you.

Josh P

Agent
Hi, It does depend on the price your looking at but unfortunatly av recievers generally make poor musical performance. (I'm assuming you listen to music in 2 channel stereo). I've heard some good reviews about Marantz and Rotel AVR's being alright in music however and even Harmon-Kardon so give some of these a listen.

Josh

Angelo.M

Senior HTF Member
Thanks for your replies thusfar; good to be on the board.

I'm looking to spend $500-600, but am flexible if it means getting an order of magnitude of improvement. Of course, I'm also flexible in the other direction if I can apply money to something else, like an SACD player.

At any rate, the Yamahas which were recommended to me did not impress. I need some other good choices.

Thanks...

Michael Roderiques

Stunt Coordinator