What's new

Advice and opinions on home theatre system (1 Viewer)

PKSTPR

Auditioning
Real Name
Duncan
Good Evening and thanks in advance to any advice!

I'm fairly new to home theatre and excited to finally getting everything set up as we just moved into our first home!

Current set up:
TV: Samsung 60" series 6003 (2 HDMI in, 0 optical out)
DirecTV Genie DVR
XBox 360
Sony DAV-HDZ273 HTIB (soon to be upgraded)

Room is rectangular and roughly 12x14 open concept floor plan which opens into the kitchen/breakfast area with just a counter divider so rear/surrounds will be wall/ceiling mounted (not in-ceiling) they will be on a mount either from mounted from the ceiling or up high on a wall angled towards the listening area.

What I would like to get:
Pioneer 5.1 Andrew Jones package with floor standing fronts
Denon AVR E200

-route all devices (DirecTV, Xbox 360, new BlueRay player to AVR and HDMI out to TV
-problem is the Pioneer bookshelf speakers are very large and heavy and do not appear to be easily mountable. I have seen some universal mounts that will support the weight of those speakers but they do seem rather bulky and cumbersome to be wall mounted.

What I am considering now because of the issue with having to wall mount my rear/surround speakers:
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Denon AVR E200

-same routing
-size seems less cumbersome

Why I decided on those...
-Solely based on CNET reviews of sound quality and price. Since we just moved into our home, fridge, washer/dryer, furniture, etc, my budget for speakers will be around that of the Pioneer group around $550-600.

My questions are:
1.) I really like the look of the Pioneers and according to CNET's review they sound amazing but the issue with having to wall mount will not work; is it possible to use a different pair of rear/surrounds with that group that will still sound good?

2.)Other alternatives that are within my budget that will sound good?