Additional AC circuit questions

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Marty Garner, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. Marty Garner

    Marty Garner Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I wanted to see if anyone had thoughts on additional AC wiring.

    I currently have one dedicated 15 amp circuit that is powering my home theater system. My system currently consists of a 7.1 setup with a receiver, an additional amp, a 42" widescreen tv and the usual assortment of other equipment.

    I'm planning on adding either a dlp or lcd projector(to replace the widescreen tv), for which I'll need an outlet in the ceiling. I would possibly like to add some additional lighting and maybe some more equipment down the road.

    So, my question to any and all is, what are the recommendations from HT folks like ourselves?

    I was planning on having a new 15amp circuit added for the outlet in the ceiling as well as some additional plugs so I can balance the load between the two circuits. Any thoughts?

    Thanks for reading the long question.
    Marty
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Hi Marty,

    First, welcome to the Forum!

    “Load balancing” is not necessary. You’ve done the right thing keeping all your gear on a dedicated circuit – you don’t want to change that. If you don’t think your current circuit is sufficient to also carry the projector, than run a new circuit for it, connected at the service panel to the same phase as the existing circuit.

    Whatever you do, don’t add extra outlets for non-HT use to either circuit. If you need other outlets, run another circuit for them. If your lighting circuit is going to include the use of dimmers, make sure that circuit is on the opposite phase[b/] from the HT equipment.

    You might want to do a search on “dedicated circuit.” You’ll turn up enough reading to keep you busy for days. [​IMG]

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. Ron-P

    Ron-P Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Ron
    I ran two dedicated 20amp lines to my HT. One line feeds all the gear, including the FP. The other is for lighting, air-conditioning and misc electrical.

    You can add the FP to your existing dedicated line by just splitting off your existing line and add a second for all lighting and such.


    Peace Out~[​IMG]
     
  4. Marty Garner

    Marty Garner Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys! I will do some more research before I have any work done.

    Marty
     
  5. Brooks

    Brooks Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    One quick note.

    Don't make the mistake of using a larger breaker (like 20 A) on the existing circuit unless you are sure that all the wire is 12ga or larger and all the outlets are 20A capable - they will have the horizontal cut in one of the recesses for the powered legs of the plugs.
     

Share This Page