Add Subwoofer to Basic System

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by pk&k, Aug 18, 2013.

  1. pk&k

    pk&k Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Tim
    Hi All,

    We have a Bose Wave Radio that we are using for our HDTV, which provides adequate sound. I would like to somehow add a subwoofer, though, as I am a bass-lover. Is there a relatively inexpensive way to do this?

    You can probably tell I am a newbie :D

    Thanks
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Depends on what connection you are using between the TV and B-WR. (I've never looked at a B-WR, so I don't even know what connections it has)But yes, splitting your audio output and running it to the B-WR and a separate sub is possible. They'll just have separate volumes to adjust.
     
  3. Tom Vodhanel

    Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1998
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Probably not the answer you are looking for---BUT:

    I'd retire the bose to a secondary system(kitchen, bedroom, etc) and start with a basic component 2.1 system for your main viewing area. An entry level receiver, pair of decent book shelf speakers, and a good $200-300 sub will set you back $500-600. But now you have the foundation for a respectable 5.1 system down the road AND the currently "2.1" performance will be magnitudes better than what you have now imo.

    Tom V.
     
  4. pk&k

    pk&k Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Tim
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
  6. pk&k

    pk&k Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Tim
    What's a passive sub?
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Means the AVR powers it.Vs the 5500 coming with a self-powered sub.
     
  8. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    68
    Real Name:
    Al
    And since most receivers support powered subs, and most subs are powered, if you even want to upgrade that 3500 or replace a defective piece, you'll be hard pressed to do so. But if it's an interim solution, or you just want to save a few bucks, as Sam said there's nothing wrong with the 3500. (Especially for the price.)
     
  9. pk&k

    pk&k Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Tim
    Isn't the s5500 7.1 though? Would the S6500 be a good choice? I want it to sound great, but not break the bank.
     
  10. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    68
    Real Name:
    Al
    Looking at the Onkyo site, the 6500 has a network connection, has more HDMI connections, and has an out put for a zone 2 (but needs another amp to use it); the 5500 has discrete amps, a wood cabinet and is cheaper.

    As for the 7.1, you can just not attach the rear speakers, not a big deal. All decent amps let you turn off channels you aren't using.

    I didn't read the manual, but I like network connectivity; but if I were trying to save a few bucks I'd go with the 5500, since most network features can be had one other components (like s media device or a BD/DVD).
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I don't "keep track" of pre-package systems. I was merely moving up the numbers.
     

Share This Page