A Few Words About A few words about...™ The Vampire Lovers -- in Blu-ray

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by Robert Harris, May 5, 2013.

1. Robert Harris

Robert Harris Archivist
    Reviewer

Robert Harris
    XenForo Template

Everyone loves lesbians.

Most everyone loves vampires.

Using Sheridan Le Fanu's (1814-1873) Carmilla as a basis, Hammer Films, Fantale Films and American-International, created The Vampire Lovers.

What could possibly be better than lesbian vampires?

The new Blu-ray from Scream Factory does justice to the film in a general sense.  I'm not an expert on either Hammer or Vampire Lovers.  I saw it when it arrived in the early '70s, and have no memory of what it looked like.

The film is a melange of original photography, what appears to be a bit of stock footage from other films, and various generations of dupes.  The end result is a decent quality affair.  A bit of minus density dirt (which could have been removed -- I'm thinking Olive here), but beyond that a very solid image for what is essentially a low-budget B product, that has taken a place in cinema history.

Nothing shocking here.  A post Woodstock, gothic tale of vampirism, based upon a solid piece of literature, and a perfectly acceptable Blu-ray experience.

Image - 3.5

Audio - 4

Recommended.

RAH

cannon1 and Bryan^H like this.
  2. Bryan^H

Bryan^H Producer

This is very low on my list of good Hammer films, but as a completist I decided to upgrade from my old MGM 'Midnite Movies' line. Needless to say if it is Hammer and on Blu-Ray I will get it(that even goes for the dreadful 'Taste The Blood Of Dracula' if WB ever releases it!).

Well said.

3. Richard--W

Richard--W Banned

This isn't the same transfer used for the old MGM double-feature DVD, is it? I'm hearing that it might be.

Regarding Herzog's NOSFERATU -- please, somebody, release it NOW on blu-ray. An hypnotic morbid beauty of a vampire film.

Bryan^H likes this.
  4. Professor Echo