What's new

6 ohm speakers with 8 ohm amp (1 Viewer)

Marvin Namro

Auditioning
I have a 6.1 home theater amp ( centrum titan 500 ) That's rated at 8 ohm. Would it work If I'd connect 5 speakers at 6 ohm each? Would that cause any strain or harm to my amp?

FoxyMulder

映画ファン
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
Marvin Namro said:
I have a 6.1 home theater amp ( centrum titan 500 ) That's rated at 8 ohm. Would it work If I'd connect 5 speakers at 6 ohm each? Would that cause any strain or harm to my amp?
That depends on the speakers and the amp, a speaker's impedance is different at different frequencies, it should be fine though but i cannot guarantee it since i have no experience of the AV Receiver you are using, what make is your speakers. ?

I use 6 ohm speakers for the surround channels of my Yamaha AV Receiver and its fine but it all depends on the quality of the receiver and speakers, some speakers can dip down to 1 ohm at certain frequencies, it's likely that you will be fine though.

If you have a subwoofer, a proper one connected up it should work just great since the sub will take the lower frequencies and load off the amp and the 6 ohm won't be an issue because of that, most good quality AV Receivers will handle 6 ohm's fine.

What are your speakers, the sensitivity rating and do you have a subwoofer. ?

Like i say in most instances it will be fine, you will get a little bit of extra strain on the receiver but if the speakers are decent quality it should be okay.

Marvin Namro

Auditioning
FoxyMulder said:
What are your speakers, the sensitivity rating and do you have a subwoofer. ?
It's small Thomson speakers, only says the impedance on the back, nothing else. Yes I have a subwoofer and I can set the speakers to either "small" or "large" which has to do with low frequencies being passed to the sub.

FoxyMulder

映画ファン
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
Marvin Namro said: