What's new

$450 bucks for a complete home theater solution? please don't kick me too hard. (1 Viewer)

Drew_E

Agent
hello. i'm a college student and i live in an apartment. i want a quick and easy solution to get DVD and a bit of sound into my life. now first off i am in an apartment so blasting bass is out of the question. this unit will be getting me through about 4 years of sonic satisfaction until i finish grad school. I also like simplicity, coupled with functionality. This will be primarily a DVD machine, as i spend my free time with movies instead of music. On another note i have a pair of very nice PSB speakers which i overpaid for so i hope to be able to utilize them (although i've been told that some PSB's are 6 ohm so i have to put my multimeter on it).
if you've made it this far through my ramblings than you must really want to help, so here's what i came up with:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=1362856486
now these are auctions from Harmon Audio and they carry the full warranty. They appear to be very nice units, and WOW what a price! this one was the cheapest auction i saw but they all seem to end for under $450.
so how bad did i do? is there a better way to piss away 500 bucks? i am just not in the position to toss any more money into the home theater pit. i would however consider designing a different subwoofer/enclosure just for fun, becuase that is one of my favorite things! :D :D
here's the coolest thing since sliced bread that i thought would be cool:

this is a "folded horn" or a t-line or a modified 4th order bandpass or whatever you would like to call it. this will give a really nice flat response and with the right choice of subwoofers and chamber sizes i can get seriously low notes, very efficient, and incredible sound. i figure all i need is a couple of radio shack woofers.
any thoughts?

Eujin

Supporting Actor
Drew,