What's new

$2000-2250 for a new home theater (1 Viewer)

AlexDW

Grip
We are in the final steps of redoing our basement to create a home theater. So far, we have the TV, a Samsung HL-R6168W (61" DLP), the DVD player, a Samsung DVD-HD850, a hi-def comcast cable DVR and hi-def DirecTV (for NFL Sunday Ticket). The main seats (when they eventually come) are 6 (2 rows of 3) 'home theater chairs' situated in front of the tv one behind the other, with the back row raised 8" on a platform.

So.. I have $2000-2250 to spend on a receiver, (an amp?), speakers, and a sub.

Looking around, the Denon 3806 caught my eye; but that would set me back half of my budget. I have very little knowledge of this stuff, but I doubt I'd make use of the Denon 'caliber' sound with $1000 worth of speakers.

A couple things:
-The reciever needs to have 2 HDMI inputs (Cable box and DVD player, the satellite will go in through component and coaxial [that's the best audio input, right?])

-I saw something about an ipod dock in a receiver. I think it was the Denon 4806. Can I find this in any cheaper receivers that fit the rest of my needs? This would be a nice addition, though it is not mandatory.

-I'm assuming most of the money should go towards the two front mains (floor standing for these). I think a 5.1 or even 5.0 would be ok as long as the fronts can handle some bass.

-As I said before, the 2 front mains are floor standing. The front middle would be hung over the tv. The two front rears would be hung behind from the ceiling. I have no idea where I'd put the subwoofer. I'll draw out a blueprint of the room and maybe you guys can help out with that.

So that's it. If you can't give me suggestions for specific models, a general opinion of the top brands for each item would be appreciated, as well as how I should go about budgeting my money for each part. Thanks in advance, Alex.

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
Welcome to the forum bro!

Look here for room layout: Dolby Labs