What's new

2 channel receiver? (1 Viewer)

John Mil

Agent
Hi guys,

I am a newbie and just listened to and ordered the Paradigm Monitor 11 speakers for a 2 channel set up. At some point I may add a sub. I'm looking for a receiver for these speakers. I just saw a new Denon model on the Crutchfield web site. It's strange that Crutchfield has a write up on this receiver but I can't find it anywhere on Denon's website. It is suppose to be available in late Sept. The model is Denon DRA-397. It puts out 80 watts per channel into 8 ohms. It has the ipod integration which my wife wants, since all of her music is on an ipod. It's in my price range but I am wondering, would this be enough power for my speakers? My room is a large open family room (15 by 19 feet) with a vaulted ceiling that starts at 9 feet and ends at 15 feet. I will also have my outside deck speakers hooked up to the reciever and will sometimes be playing both sets of speakers at once (parties). Any help would be appreciated!

BruceD

Screenwriter
You might want to check out the Harmon Kardon factory authorized site on ebay!!! HK site

I just purchased an HK 240 AVR (7.1 AV receiver) from them (refurbished but with NEW warranty) for $224. It has the capability to use HK's Ipod bridge adapter (plug in Ipod to charge and play from HK).

They also have HK stereo receivers, but I didn't check to see if they support Ipod

John Mil

Agent
Thanks Bruce. I will check out that site. I'm guessing 80 to 100 watts per channel is enough for my Monitor 11's??

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
For a 2ch setup, a solid 100w would be better, but 80w should be adequate. Onkyo also offers stereo receivers that I've used before and they are pretty good also. Some decent deals can be found here, some new, some refurb.

If you are considering a sub, note that there are very few stereo receivers that have bass management (built in crossover) to use with a sub, and some may not have a sub pre-out.

Seth=L