1080 vs 720 problem

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by jcrilley3, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. jcrilley3

    jcrilley3 Agent

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having an issue with my cable box and new Pioneer VSX 21 TXH. Every time I turn on the cable box the Hi Def channels that I know broadcast in 1080 are showing on the box as 720. I go through the procedure to switch it to 1080 as the Comcast tech guy told me to do. It works fine until I turn the box off for the night. The next day everything is broadcasting in 720 again. Has anyone ever experienced something like this? Not sure if it is a cable box problem or has something to do with the A/V receiver.
     
  2. Selden Ball

    Selden Ball Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Selden
    Are you using component video or HDMI?

    Equipment connected together using HDMI can negotiate with one another to decide what resolution to use. If your TV or projector is 720p, then that might explain what's happening.

    What do you mean by "on the box as 720". I don't have a Comcast cable box. Does it have its own resolution display?
     
  3. Skynet

    Skynet Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of television do you have? Is it 1080p native

     
  4. jcrilley3

    jcrilley3 Agent

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 40" Sony Bravia KDL-40Z4100 which I am pretty sure is 1080p native.
     
  5. Selden Ball

    Selden Ball Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Selden
    It's 1080p/120Hz according to a Web search.

    You didn't say what kind of connections you're using.

    What order do you turn on the equipment?

    Because of the HDMI negotiations, I'd suggest making sure the TV is on and ready well before turning on the receiver, and that the receiver is on and ready before turning on the cable box.

    Does that turn-on sequence make any difference in what the cable box does?
     
  6. jcrilley3

    jcrilley3 Agent

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have HDMI from cable box to receiver. Then HDMI from receiver to tv.
    I usually turn the receiver on first and then the box and tv go on simultaneously
    using the Comcast remote. I have been leaving the cable box on lately and
    it remains at the higher resolution, 1080p.
     
  7. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5,129
    Likes Received:
    637
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    I would second Selden's comments: TV, then receiver, then cable box. I haven't yet put in HD cable, but this order holds true for BD players and other HD devices as well.
     
  8. jcrilley3

    jcrilley3 Agent

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give that a shot. Thanks.
     
  9. dmcgruther

    dmcgruther Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    my HD box, Onkyo Receiver, and Projector do the exact same thing. My PJ is onlt a 720p, so when everything "handshakes" together the receiver will revert the cable box to 720p to maximize the picture quality.........pretty damn ingenious if you ask me
     

Share This Page